Salted Caramel Pear Bread With Streusel Topping

Salted Caramel Pear Bread with Steusel Topping

Salted Caramel Pear Bread with Steusel Topping

They say necessity is the mother of all inventions.  Not that I invented pear breads but I did however have to come up with something easy, delicious and “pear involve” since my pear tree was overflowing.  I do not have the time nor the patience at this point to can or freeze 30 some pounds of pears.  So I shared with friends and kept a good amount to use up for my peeps.

My friend Chris was telling me she made Spice Pear Bread before.  That sounded so good.  I love Spice Bread, but I also love caramelized pears and I adore a streusel topping and salted caramel…oh my!….I thought let’s do best of all worlds, hoping I wasn’t creating a mosh pit of a bread!

I think I might be OK with this one!

I think I might be OK with this one!

Ingredients:

For the Salted Caramel Pears:

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

2 cups pears, peeled and diced

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoon heavy cream

For the Bread:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon all spice

1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

2 tablespoons melted unsalted butter

2/3 cup milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)

1 egg

1/3 cup brown sugar

For the Streusel Topping:

1/3 cup oats (not quick oats)

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons cold unsalted butter

How to:

For the Salted Caramel Pears:

In a large pan melt your butter, add your pears and toss lightly.  Add your brown sugar, salt and heavy cream.  Stir gently until everything is well combined.  Let this cook on medium heat, stirring occasionally until reduced lightly golden.  Do not leave this alone or rush this with high heat.  It would burn your pears and they would be bitter.  Remove from heat and let cool while you prepare the bread.

already smells amazing in my kitchen!

already smells amazing in my kitchen!

For the Bread:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease or spray a loaf pan.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl combine your flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg and ginger.  Set aside.

In a large bowl mix your melted butter, milk, egg and brown sugar.  Add your flour mixture at once and mix until just combined (do not overmix).  Using a spatula gently fold in your salted caramel pears.  Pour your mixture into your prepared pan.  Set aside.

For the Streusel Topping:

In a medium bowl combine your flour, oats, brown sugar, salt and cinnamon.  Cut your butter into small pieces and add to your oat mixture.  Using a pastry cutter or your fingers, mix everything until you have a crumbly mixture.  Sprinkle your mixture over your bread batter.  Put your bread into your preheated oven and bake for 45-50 minutes.

oven ready

oven ready

letting this cool is going to be torture!

letting this cool is going to be torture!

is it me or this bread is utterly gorgeous?

is it me or this bread is utterly gorgeous?

Let cool completely before slicing….and ENJOY!

Have a slice of deliciousness!

Have a slice of deliciousness!

I love this bread and my house smells like Heaven wrapped in Salted Caramel Pears….it’s a good perfume I must say!  The taste is so perfect, a touch of salted caramel, soft pears and a moist spice bread….it really works!

and take a closer look at the inside....oh so pretty!

and take a closer look at the inside….oh so pretty!

Printer Friendly: Salted Caramel Pear Bread with Streusel Topping

Peace and Mosh Pits Are Scary!

Isabelle

 

4 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Pear Bread With Streusel Topping

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

