Goodbye Old Friend

Yesterday we had to say Goodbye to our wonderful lab Riley.  Riley has been with us since the girls were 3 and 5.  They are now 15 and 17.  12 years of friendship from a dog who’s only fault was to love us unconditionally.

This was by far one of the hardest things we have had to do as a family.

We spent the day together and had pizza for lunch; Riley’s favorite: DiGiorno…he was a simple man, nothing fancy.  Our wonderful vet came to our home and we said our goodbyes.

Here are a few pictures that I would like to share with you.  If you are not a animal lover you may not understand how difficult this was for us.  That’s OK.  I just needed to share this, because our home feels empty without him, because he was always a friend and a protector, because he loved us unconditionally…as we did him.

Our gorgeous Riley

Our gorgeous Riley

Riley's favorite sleeping position...so sexy!

Riley’s favorite sleeping position…so sexy!

Riley sleeping with Bear. She gave him this blanket for his final resting place

Riley sleeping with Bear. She gave him this blanket to be with him in his final resting place.

 

This is the day we brought Cooper home, look at Riley's face...he's thrilled! ;)

This is the day we brought Cooper home, look at Riley’s face…he’s thrilled!😉

 

Friendship <3

Friendship❤

 

Riley also liked to hoard the toys

Riley also liked to hoard the toys

Riley got a lot of love today from his human sisters

Riley got a lot of love today from his human sisters

 

for one thing Riley wasn't a very classy eater...but he LOVED food!

For one thing Riley wasn’t a very classy eater…but he LOVED food!

 

this picture breaks my heart, he was such a gentle soul

this picture breaks my heart, he was such a gentle soul

 

Goodbye Riley Old Friend. We love you.

Goodbye Riley Old Friend. We love you.

Peace and Love your pet,

Isabelle

20 thoughts on “Goodbye Old Friend

  1. I’m so sorry to hear of this Isabelle. We are a dog-loving family and have a lab ourselves, Chip. We’ve had to make the same decision as you with previous dogs and it is definitely not an easy thing to do. Je pense à toi et à ta famille, ma belle Isabelle.

    To me, it looks like Riley had an amazing life and family. He was lucky to have you, and you were even luckier to have him.

    Denise xxxx

  2. So very sorry for your loss! I know firsthand how heartbreaking it is to let a family member go, but you gave Riley a wonderful life and a gift in his passing peacefully and surrounded by love. ((Hugs))!!

  3. I’m SO sorry to hear about Riley!! We just lost our black lab Haggar a month ago. He was 13. I understand that emptiness!! Keeping you all in my thoughts. Mary

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. So sorry for you loss – we have also lost special animal members of our family and I know how difficult it is. It looks like Riley had a beautiful and fulfilling life❤

  5. Riley was so beautiful. He looks like he was a gentle giant. We are a kitty family but lost our kitty 8 years ago that we had for 16 years. We got another kitty but nothing takes her place in our hearts and we miss her still. The difference is now we can talk about her most of the time without tears and lots of laughs and smiles. I wish you comfort in that you were a great family for Riley and he for you.

  6. Sorry for your loss! Riley looked like a family member who was loved very much! I know how hard it is to let our 4 legged babies cross the rainbow bridge! Our thoughts & prayers are with you & your family! ((HUGS))

  7. I am reading this with my pup, Sasha sleeping at my side and tears running down my face. How lucky Riley was to have spent all those years in a family6 where he was loved as much as he was. The hole left by each that we loose throughout our lives are never filled, but thankfully there are so many more who need us as much as we need them. You are all in my thoughts and prayers.

  8. Isabel, so sorry to hear about Riley! Your dogs were the best! Enjoyed being around them every time you had cards!
    Debbie

  9. Isabelle, I saw this post the other day… put off commenting until now (forgive me, please) because it tore at my heart. What a wonderful, beloved part of your family and memories Riley was — and ever will be! This post made me cry in a “I wish I could hug my friend” way. So, soooooo sorry for your loss. Thank you for the photos from Riley’s grand and glorious life w/u — it’s obvious he was much loved!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

