Roasted Tomatillos Salsa

Roasted Tomatillos Salsa

Roasted Tomatillos Salsa

It took a big leap of faith on my part to not make my usual Salsa Verde .  It’s Matt and I’s absolute favorite salsa.  I use it for so much more than just chips and dip.  I won’t bore you with all the details (go see recipes: here and here and here )….my brain can only handle so much information so let’s just talk about why a new tomatillos salsa?

It’s ROASTED which means it will take flavors to the next level.

I like the hands free everything in the oven idea.

It’s easy to change up the heat lever and add other interesting ingredients, perhaps a couple green tomatoes or red onions.

I don’t want to be in a salsa rut….where ever that is!

I want to be in salsa heaven…where ever that is!

Gorgeous salsa....this is where I want to be!

Gorgeous salsa….this is where I want to be!

Ingredients:

2 lbs tomatillos (about 10-14 depending on size) peeled and rinsed

1 onion roughly chopped

2-3 jalapenos (or less if you don’t like spicy or you could use a combination of peppers, I did: 1 inferno, 1 italico spanish spice and 1 anaheim)

6 garlic cloves peeled

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon each salt and pepper

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 cup cilantro roughly chopped

Juice one lime

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone mat.  Set aside.

Put all your tomatillos (peeled and rinsed…kind of important), chopped onion, peppers and garlic in a large bowl, drizzle with 3 tablespoons olive oil, sprinkle your salt and pepper.  Toss everything together well.  Lay everything in your prepared pan.  Put in your preheated oven for 30 minutes.  Stir everything again at the halfway point….smell the amazing flavor while you are at it!

look at these marvelous ingredients! OH MY!

look at these marvelous ingredients! OH MY!

roasting is simply THE BEST....end of story!

roasting is simply THE BEST….end of story!

After 30 minutes, let cool for about 10 minutes.  Put everything (any juices as well) in your food processor.  Add 1 tablespoon olive oil, 1 cup cilantro and lime juice.  Pulse until desired consistency.  Taste and adjust seasoning.

for some reason this picture makes me smile...everything about it is YUM!

for some reason this picture makes me smile…everything about it is: YUM!

there you have it: over 4 cups of deliciously flavorful salsa...HOMEMADE SALSA!

there you have it: over 4 cups of deliciously flavorful salsa…HOMEMADE SALSA!

time to serve up some knock your socks off salsa!

time to serve up some knock your socks off salsa!

Enjoy!

this is where I grow my peppers: around the chicken coop! I have over 5 kinds of peppers... I <3 it!

this is where I grow my peppers: around the chicken coop! I have over 9 kinds of peppers… I ❤ it!

Printer Friendly: Roasted Tomatillos Salsa

Peace and Leap of Faith,

Isabelle

You could make this with this delicious salsa:

My Mom's Mexican Dip

My Mom’s Mexican Dip

My Mom’s Mexican Dip

OR this:

Green Enchiladas

Green Enchiladas

Green Enchiladas

 

One thought on “Roasted Tomatillos Salsa

  1. Isabelle, chips and salsa are in a food group of their own, aren’t they? Your roasted salsa is at the top of the list! I love your ‘pepper garden’ and the fact that 4 cups of homemade salsa make you happy! xo 🙂 I can sooooo identify… entirely yummy!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

