Fresh Herbs and Brie Quiche

Fresh Herbs and Brie Quiche

Fresh Herbs and Brie Quiche

I don’t make quiche all that often.  Yup, it’s not because one is French that quiche is a daily or even weekly meal.  Also it might have a little something to do with the fact that Mr. Man is not a fan of quiche….so real men sometimes don’t eat quiche!   No worries he can pull off a wonderful pink or purple dress shirt when needed….that was probably TMI but you get the idea!

This quiche celebrates fresh herbs!  MY fresh herbs growing wonderfully in my now beautiful herb garden.  I am so happy to finally be able to walk out my patio door, scissors in hand and simply cut what I need.  I add fresh herbs to everything I can.  It makes a huge difference in every dish in my opinion.  Beautiful colorful fragrant organic pesticide-free fresh herbs….gardening is a blessing!

You can truly grow fresh herbs anywhere!  Even when I lived in Ottawa in a small condo I had fresh herbs all summer long.  So many ways: window boxes, small pots around a patio deck, community gardens, garden co-ops, borrowing a little corner of a friend’s yard in exchange for fresh herbs, etc….

This message was brought to you by your favorite fresh herb blogger  😉

ahhhh lunch!

ahhhh lunch!

Let’s get to this delicious quiche!

Ingredients:

1 store bought pie crust (or homemade…blah blah blah I can’t make pie crust)

6-ounces (weight) Brie, cut into small pieces (the colder the easier…also rind removal is optional, I like it so I kept it)

1/3 cup shredded Swiss cheese

6 slices bacon (or pancetta or ham), cooked and crumbled (optional)

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons chopped fresh herbs: basil, chives, tarragon, oregano, thyme (that’s what I had)

5 large eggs

1 cup milk

1 cup heavy cream

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

Put your pie crust in your pan.  Sprinkle your brie evenly at the bottom of your pie crust.  Sprinkle your swiss over your brie.  Next sprinkle your cooked bacon on top of your cheeses.  Set aside.

boy oh boy do I LOVE cheese....all types....all forms...

boy oh boy do I LOVE cheese….all types….all forms…

bacon seem to make people happy!

bacon seem to make people happy!

In a large bowl combine your eggs with your milk, heavy cream, salt, pepper and 1/2 cup of mixed fresh herbs.  Whisk everything until well combined.  Pour over your cheese and bacon mixture.   Sprinkle the remainder 2 tablespoons of fresh herbs over your egg mixture.  Put your pie pan/plate on a baking sheet and put in your preheated oven for 45-60 minutes (ovens are temperamental).

action shot!

action shot!

now THAT'S a lot of fresh herbs!

now THAT’S a lot of fresh herbs!

love the color of this quiche!

love the color of this quiche!

Let cool for 10 minutes and serve.  YUMMY!

the first bite always makes me the happiest...then the second...and on and on

the first bite always makes me the happiest…then the second…and on and on

Printer Friendly:  Fresh Herbs and Brie Quiche

quiche.... oui oui ;)

quiche…. oui oui 😉

Peace and Be Real,

Isabelle

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

