Grilled Chicken with Spicy Mango Sauce

Grilled Chicken with Spicy Mango Sauce

Grilled Chicken with Spicy Mango Sauce

About three years ago during one of our visits with my folks in Canada they took us to a local Mexican Restaurant.  I can’t remember the name but I remember what I ate.  Typical.

I had a delicious chicken with a mango sauce dish….simply delicious.  I tried to duplicate it at home on several occasions.  Never quite what I remembered.

Then my lovely mother (who is cleaning out her house once more to downsize) brought me some old Bon Appetit magazines. …we are talking circa 1994.  Other than pleasing me, I seriously wonder why she hung on to these for so long….oh well….I’m glad she did because I found a recipe I could definitely work with for my mango sauce.

Note: I couldn’t find this recipe on the Bon Appetit Website , I think it is because it was a reader’s request from a restaurant.  I also have found that said restaurant (Cottonwood Cafe in Bethesda, Maryland) no longer exists!  Oh well…I did try!

Grilled Chicken says SUMMER IS HERE....and this sauce puts the mango on top!  ;)

Grilled Chicken says SUMMER IS HERE….and this sauce puts the mango on top! 😉

Ingredients:

For the Chicken:

3 lbs boneless skinless chicken breast (if needed cut breast in half, so they cook evenly)

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 cup fresh herbs (basil, oregano,chives, parsley, rosemary), roughly chopped

1/4 cup lime juice

2 garlic cloves, minced

For the sauce:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

1 mango, peeled, pitted and chopped

2 peaches, peeled, pitted, and chopped

1/4 cup brown sugar (I used raw coconut sugar, see pic below)

2 cups sweet white wine (Riesling, Moscato…etc..)

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 tablespoon chopped canned chipotle chilies in adobo sauce

3 tablespoons lime juice

1/4 cup vegetable broth (optional)

Salt and Pepper to taste

How to:

For the chicken:

In a large ziplock bag combine your chicken with olive oil, herbs, lime juice and garlic.  “Massage” everything well.  Put in your fridge for 3-4 hours (or even overnight won’t hurt anything).  If you prefer to marinate your chicken in a large bowl, simply combine your olive oil, herbs, lime juice and garlic, mix well and add your chicken.  Make sure all pieces of chicken are well coated with the marinade.

wanted to show you...but honestly this pic makes me gringe...ooops

wanted to show you…but honestly this pic makes me cringe…ooops

For the sauce:

In a large saucepan, melt your butter with your olive oil.  Add your mango, peaches and sugar.  Cook stirring frequently for about 15 minutes until fruits are soft and sugar is completely melted.  Add your wine and cook until wine has reduced to a sauce consistency (about 20 minutes).  Add your cream and chilies.  Simmer for another 10 minutes.  Using an immersion blender or a blender puree your sauce.  Return to your pan (if you were using your blender) add your lime juice.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Keep warm until  chicken is ready.  If your sauce is too thick add your vegetable broth.  Stir well to combine.

look at the pretty colors!

look at the pretty colors!

reducing definitely makes flavors go from 0 to 100!  WOW!

reducing definitely makes flavors go from 0 to 100! WOW!

this is going to be amazing!  I can tell...I REALLY can tell!

this is going to be amazing! I can tell…I REALLY can tell!

For the chicken:

Preheat your grill.  Remove chicken from marinade.  Grill until cooked through, about 5-7 minutes per sides.  Transfer chicken to serving plate (or platter if serving family style) spoon sauce over chicken!

I am so ready for this explosion of flavors!

I am so ready for this explosion of flavors!

DELICIOUS.  Slightly spicy but not overwhelming.   The color is so pretty with little flecks of red from the chipotle chilies.  I think this sauce would also be amazing on fish, grilled vegetables, burgers….oh the possibilities!

I can no longer wait...the first bite took me back to that delicious restaurant and the amazing meal I had with my folks <3

I can no longer wait…the first bite took me back to that delicious restaurant and the amazing meal I had with my folks ❤

Printer Friendly: Grilled Chicken with Spicy Mango Sauce

Peace and Hang On,

Isabelle

NOTE:  I know I have been somewhat absent.  I have so many delicious recipes I want to share with you guys.  I feel horrible….but life as you know it is not a rehearsed play…sometimes you just fly by the seat of your pants and hope for the best.  Stick with me, I promise to keep on going and keep on sharing!  🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Grilled Chicken with Spicy Mango Sauce

  1. Isabelle, I hear ya on life happenin’… I haven’t been around the block much either lately ;)… but you do whatcha gotta do. The important thing is to take care of YOU, Mr. Man, and your lovely family FIRST. (I’d say this dish is a wonderful way to do all three at the same time!) Quick question… you mentioned adding cream in the instructions but I didn’t see cream in the ingredients. Am I missing something? I really want to try this! Thank you. xo

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

