Scotcharoos (my way)

Scotcharoos <3

Scotcharoos❤

Some days I think I live under a rock.  I honestly had never heard of Scotcharoos until a few days ago.  Truth be told when I saw the picture of a lovely dessert treat I wanted to make Sunshine for prom night at her friend’s house, I thought it was simply a layer of Rice Krispies squares.  I saw the name but thought nothing of it.  Then my friend Chris came over and I showed her the recipe and she said: “oh yea I love Scotcharoos….”

What?  ummmm…..OK.

So then I had this flashback of never having tried Hamburger Helper until I married Mr. Man.  Never having ordered Chinese take-out until I moved in with the “princess” in college.  Never having Spam…still!

What’s a silly girl to do?  Make Scotcharoos and make some pretty darn good one at that!  So take that stupid rock over me! :/

these little gems are so flippin' amazing!

these little gems are so flippin’ amazing!

Please note this is not the “classic scotcharoos” these have been Isabellized…what ever that means!

Ingredients:

6 cups rice Krispies cereal

1 cup light corn syrup

1 cup sugar

1 cup peanut butter

2 cups chocolate chips, divided

1 cup butterscotch chips

1/2 cup peanut butter chips

How to:

Spray a 9X13 baking dish with cooking spray, set aside.

In a large bowl combine your cereal with 1 cup chocolate chips.  Set aside.

In a saucepan, combine your corn syrup and your sugar.  On medium heat gently stir until sugar has melted.  Remove from heat and add your peanut butter.  Gently stir until combined and creamy.  Add to your cereal and chocolate chips mix.  Quickly stir.  The heat from the peanut butter mixture will melt some of your chocolate chips, go for it. Don’t worry about it too much.  It will taste amazing.  Spread your mixture into your prepared pan.  Set aside.

the peanut butter mixture is quite spectacular if you ask me!

the peanut butter mixture is quite spectacular if you ask me!

all set!

all set!

In a heat proof dish combine your 1 cup chocolate chips with your butterscotch chips.  Starting with 30 seconds heat in your microwave.  Stirring after each time.  (I did 30 secs then another 30 secs. but followed with 15 seconds increments as to not burn my chips)  Once completely melted pour over your cereal mixture and spread evenly.  Set aside.

chocolate & butterscotch make a beautiful friendship!

chocolate & butterscotch make a beautiful friendship!

In another small heat proof dish melt your peanut butter chips in microwave.  Again stirring after each time.  (I would suggest 15-20 seconds increments)  Using a spoon, place dollops of your melted chips over the chocolate/butterscotch layer.  Using a knife gently run through to swirl the peanut butter with the chocolate/butterscotch layer.  Done!  Place in your fridge (if in a hurry) or leave to cool at room temperature until chips have hardened.

there is no rules here....just dollops of peanut butter! Whatever works!

there is no rules here….just dollops of peanut butter! Whatever works!

pretend to be an artist....a peanut butter artist!

pretend to be an artist….a peanut butter artist!

OH MY WORD.....pure art!

OH MY WORD…..pure art!

Voila!!!! One of the best treat I have had in a long time….SUPERB!

I want this piece right now!

I want this piece right now!

Printer Friendly:  Scotcharoos

so so so perfectly fabulous!

so so so perfectly fabulous!

Note: these are simply jaw-dropping delicious….addictive….not something that will get you bikini ready….beware my friends, one could eat a whole pan of these goodies!

don't you just want to take a bite?  ;)

don’t you just want to take a bite?😉

Peace and Rock,

Isabelle

One thought on “Scotcharoos (my way)

  1. Yum! I love chocolate and peanut butter, and this recipe makes Rice Krispie treats so much better than it already is! Do try SPAM..pan seared…have it as a sandwich or with plain white rice. It’s salty and pretty good🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

