Tomato Soup Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Tomato Soup Cake with Cream Cheese Icing

Tomato Soup Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

At first I thought: yuck…

Then I remembered my: Not your mama’s apple pie  which is made with green tomatoes.

So I figured if Nate, my husband’s buddy from the Firehouse says it is delicious then who am I to judge.

I made the cake….turns out Nate’s Mom knows how to make a great cake even if it is with canned tomato soup, which I have never been a fan of, case and point: Cream of Roasted Tomato Soup.

reminiscent of a spice cake, slightly similar in color to a carrot cake....but absolutely delicious and moist!

reminiscent of a spice cake, slightly similar in color to a carrot cake….absolutely delicious, flavorful and moist!

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1-1/3 cups sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

4 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoon allspice

1 can condensed tomato soup

1/2 cup shortening

1/4 cup water

2 eggs

 How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease and flour an 9 X 13 baking pan.  Set aside.

In a large bowl combine your flour, cinnamon, sugar, ground cloves, baking powder, baking soda, and allspice.

Add your tomato soup and shortening, beat until well blended.  Add your water and eggs.  Beat for 3 minutes.  Spread into your prepared pan.  Bake for 35-40 minutes until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Let stand 10 minutes.  Remove from pan and cool on rack.  Cool completely before frosting.

a gorgeous pinkish orangy hue...very pretty!

a gorgeous pinkish orangy hue…very pretty!

wow! the smell is absolutely amazing!

wow! the smell is absolutely amazing!

Cream Cheese Frosting:

Ingredients:

8-ounce cream cheese at room temperature

1 tablespoon milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 lbs confectioner sugar

How to:

Whip cream cheese until light and fluffy.  Add you milk and vanilla combine well.  Gradually add your sugar until well blended.

cream cheese frosting....simply magical!

cream cheese frosting….simply magical!

Do you guys have an unusual recipe you would like to share with me?  If interested please email me at: isamvor@comcast.net I would love to blog with all my readers all the fun, perhaps bizarre yet delicious recipes that you want to share with me/us.

you know it's a good cake when my mom tells me it's a perfectly delicious and she must have it for breakfast as well! ;)

you know it’s a good cake when my mom tells me it’s perfectly delicious and she must have it for breakfast as well! 😉

Printer Friendly:  Tomato Soup Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Peace and Let’s be unusual,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Tomato Soup Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

