Cauliflower Salad

Cauliflower Salad

Cauliflower Salad

I saw a wonderful Romanesco Summer Salad in Delicious Living Magazine, that I pick up at my local health food store.  Problem is that Romanesco Cauliflower is not readily available at my grocery store.  Honestly I think I might have seen it there once since we moved here 8 years ago!  That certainly doesn’t make it an ingredient I think of when I cook!  I tend to be one who likes easily and abundantly available ingredients…some might call that laziness but I call it “make it work with what you have”!

This is my version of this delicious salad.  It is fresh, easy to make and loaded with vitamins!  It is a great side for grilled chicken, fish, grilled steaks, burgers, etc…. I think the addition of capers makes this salad perfect!

Look at those gorgeous colors!

Look at those gorgeous colors!

Ingredients:

1 head cauliflower, cut into bite-size pieces

Zest and juice 1 lemon

2 teaspoons Dijon mustard

4 tablespoons olive oil

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 cup red onion, thinly chopped

1/3 cup fresh basil, roughly chopped

3 tablespoons fresh chives, roughly chopped

4 tablespoons rinsed and drained capers, coarsely chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste

How to:

In a large pot, bring water to a boil over high heat.  Add cauliflower, cover, reduce heat to medium, and cook for 2–3 minutes, until crisp-tender.  Using a slotted spoon, transfer cauliflower to a rimmed baking sheet or clean kitchen towel, spreading it in a single layer, to cool.

In a small bowl, whisk together mustard, lemon zest, lemon juice, and about 1/4 teaspoon each salt & pepper.  Slowly add oil, whisking constantly to emulsify.

simple yet delicious dressing

simple yet delicious dressing

Put cauliflower in a serving bowl.  Add bell pepper, onion, basil, chives, capers, and vinaigrette; toss gently to combine.  Taste and adjust seasoning.  Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.  It will keep well for several hours, you may want to toss again prior to serving.

all in!  Ready for the dressing!

all in! Ready for the dressing!

some sort of action shot for you guys ;)

some sort of action shot for you guys 😉

ready to chill for a little bit

ready to chill for a little bit

Note: if you have a steamer you may use it to cook your cauliflower.

oh my goodness this is simply amazingly scrumptious!

oh my goodness this is simply amazingly scrumptious!

Printer Friendly:  Cauliflower Salad

Peace and I like Abundant,

Isabelle

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Cauliflower Salad

  1. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

