Southside Cocktail

Southside Cocktail

Southside Cocktail

When in Florida….

Make drinks for your hosts!

This is one of my new FAVORITE drinks!  It is refreshing, easy and tastes like the best night of your life!

OK…I made that last part up.

I saw Geoffrey Zakarian make this drink one day on the show The Kitchen on the Food Network , my only concern is that he made it with Gin.  Gin and I don’t get along to well.  So I wondered if I switched to Vodka would the drink still work.  Vodka and I get along really really really well!  Turns out vodka or gin make this drink worthy of sharing with you my friends or sister in law 😉

Cheers (please ignore my crazy hair and the fact that Dee is looking at Matt)

Cheers (please ignore my crazy hair and the fact that Dee is looking at Matt)

Ingredients:

2 ounces gin (gin for the hubby, vodka for the crazy…ummm me!)

1 ounce lime juice

3/4 ounce  simple syrup

1 sprig mint (optional…turns out both Dee and I don’t like mint)

How to:

Combine the gin (or vodka), lime juice, simple syrup and mint sprig in a shaker.  Add some ice cubes and shake vigorously.  Strain into a chilled martini glass.

Garnish with one mint leaf, smacked to release the oils, floating on top of the cocktail.

Simple syrup:

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

How to:

In a small saucepan bring your water and sugar to a boil.  Boil until sugar is dissolved.  Let cool completely.  Use as indicated in recipe.

so fresh, tart, and slightly sweet = perfect cocktail!

so fresh, tart, and slightly sweet = perfect cocktail!

Printer Friendly: Southside Cocktail

Have a wonderful weekend from us to you ;)

Have a wonderful weekend from us to you 😉

Peace and Florida,

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Southside Cocktail

  1. Have fun in Florida, sweet Isabelle! (Looks like you already are!) 😉 Thanks for the drink recipe, too. I’m with you on the vodka, but the rum idea (from Lori’s comment) sounds good, too. Cheers!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

