Aunt Sara’s Creamy Roasted Chicken Noodle Soup

Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup

Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup

As much as I love soups, evident with my: Soups Round Up, I had never made my Aunt Sara’s Creamy Roasted Chicken Noodle Soup.  She makes it every year for our Christmas Family Party.  We keep it simple for everyone with 3 large Crockpots filled with yummy food: one with her soup, one with my classic chili (which I have yet to share with you…hint: BEER is my secret ingredient) and one with Grandma Georgia’ Seafood Chowder (a recipe I am not privy to).  We also have platters of lunch meats and a crazy amount of breads to choose from.  Easy and practical for the big day!

Since I’ve had somewhat of a sore throat the past few days I thought it would be yummy and delicious to make her soup.  Isn’t chicken noodle soup the cure-all?

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

1 cup diced carrots

1 cup diced celery (not in original recipe but Aunt Sara said to add what ever veggies I wanted!)

1 tablespoon dry oregano

6 cups chicken broth (low-sodium is best, 49-ounce can)

1, 12-ounce can evaporated milk

4 medium potatoes, peeled and diced (about 1-inch cubes)

1 whole roasted chicken, shredded (store-bought or homemade, I had about 6 cups of shredded chicken)

1 cup frozen peas, thawed (I think I was closer to 1 1/2 cups)

2 cups egg noodles (I prefer the extra-wide & I did use the no-yoke kind)

Salt and Pepper to taste (about 1 teaspoon each should work)

How to:

In a large soup kettle or dutch oven heat your oil.  Add your onion, carrots and celery.  Saute for 5 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Add your oregano, salt, pepper, chicken broth, evaporated milk and potatoes.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce and simmer for about 30-40 minutes until potatoes are tender.  Taste and adjust seasoning.

from start

from start

to finish...nicely reduced after 35 or so minutes

to finish…nicely reduced after 35 or so minutes

Add your roasted chicken, peas and egg noodles.  Cook until noodles are done, approximately 8 minutes.

the home stretch! All aboard!

the home stretch! All aboard!

done! Looking gorgeous and delicious!

done! Looking gorgeous and delicious!

oh my goodness....and NO cream...yet all this creaminess!

oh my goodness….NO cream…yet all this creaminess!

Serve.

***You may want to add another cup or so of chicken broth if you feel your soup is getting too thick, especially if you have leftovers.  Totally up to you, some people like their soup to be thin and lively (!) others (like me) like them thick and robust! 😉

Note: I am always hesitant to give salt and pepper amounts.  It is such a personal preference.  We don’t like it too salty at my house, some people hate the taste of pepper in food, some people actually think pepper is spicy; they wouldn’t survive here….we LOVE it really spicy, Tabasco seems closer to ketchup for us!  So you can imagine when I make spicy stuff it can really take it to a new level!  Therefore salt and pepper so your taste buds are happy happy!

now that's a happy happy soup!

now that’s a happy happy soup!

Printer Friendly: Aunt Sara’s Creamy Roasted Chicken Noodle Soup

Peace and I had to look up the word privy to make sure I was using it correctly,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Aunt Sara’s Creamy Roasted Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. Hope this cured what’s ailing you, Isabelle, xo. This looks so simple and flavorful and creamy! I also agree with you on S & P to taste — and hot stuff! My hubby & I stopped at a BBQ joint on our way home from the airport on Thursday and I asked to try their “extra hot” sauce. The waitress warned me that it was made with ghost peppers (hotter than habeneros!) and looked at me like I was crazy for asking. It was delish!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

