Chocolate Peanut Butter Globs

Chocolate Peanut Butter Globs

Chocolate Peanut Butter Globs

As you read this my husband might have stopped talking to me for making yet more sweets.

As you read this there might be a “cookie intervention” going on in our house.

As you read this I might have gained 15 pounds because I am a weak weak weak woman and even in the midst of trying to survive this dreadful winter with healthy light “super food” filled dishes, I gave in and made another cookie recipe for my people.  Well…to be completely honest it was for ME.

I don’t care.

I was running on my treadmill (as I have been doing everyday because it is too frickin’ cold to run outside) and I was torturing myself with the Food Network.  As a side note….what kind of crazy woman watches cooking shows after cooking shows while running 6 miles daily?  Me.  That’s who.  I swear if I met me and heard this crap I would kick my own butt!  ANYWAY…..Ina Garten made an anniversary dinner for her lovely husband Jeffrey (45 years together! WOW!!!!!).  He is a roasted chicken fanatic (way to go Jeffrey, roasted chicken is under-rated if you ask me…probably not foodie enough!) BUT her dessert was enough to make me stop and lick the TV.

Too much?

I don’t care.

I had to make her cookies or globs as she calls them…..

Now you should care.  Because they are AMAZING.

a platter full of Globs!

a platter full of Globs!

Ingredients:

6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter
12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips, divided
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate
2 extra-large eggs
1 tablespoon instant espresso powder
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup plus 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup whole walnut halves (not chopped)
1 cup whole pecan halves (not chopped)
2/3 cup peanut butter chips, such as Reese’s
How to:
Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F.  Line a few sheet pans with parchment paper. (I did both parchment and silicone mat, to be honest the parchment worked much better!)
In a bowl set over simmering water, melt the butter, 6 ounces of the chocolate chips, and the unsweetened chocolate, stirring occasionally, until just melted.  Remove from the heat and cool for 15 minutes.
In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the eggs, espresso powder, and vanilla until combined.  Add the sugar, raise the speed to medium-high, and beat for 2 minutes, until the batter is thick and falls back on itself in a ribbon.  Set aside.
With the mixer on low, slowly add the chocolate mixture to the egg mixture.
Combine the 1/3 cup of flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl and fold it into the chocolate mixture with a rubber spatula.
In another bowl, combine the walnuts, pecans, peanut butter chips, the remaining 6 ounces of chocolate chips, and the tablespoon of flour and fold it into the chocolate mixture.
gorgeous....simply gorgeous cookie batter!

gorgeous….simply gorgeous cookie batter!

With 2 soup spoons (or a medium sized scoop), drop rounded mounds of batter 2 inches (she said 1 but trust me you need two inches…) apart onto your prepared sheet pans.  Bake for 15 minutes exactly.  Cool on the baking sheets.
almost there!

almost there!

COOKIES!!!!!!! pure perfection!

COOKIES!!!!!!! pure perfection!

Printer Friendly: Chocolate Peanut Butter Globs

one last look at these delectable little gems

one last look at these delectable little gems

Peace and Interventions are over-rated,
Isabelle

16 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Globs

  1. Isabelle, if Ina says these cookies are good, I trust they’re good. If YOU say they’re amazing, I KNOW they are! At least you’re exercising during the food shows, which is more than I can say for moi. 😉

  2. OH. MY. GOODNESS! These look so good! As soon as we eat those nasty store bought cookies My Man likes…>:P I’ll make them. Wait…I just had an idea. I’ll use the nasty ones to train the dog! haha

  3. I am SO over winter! I was hamster-tracking it at the fitness center today wishing I could at least watch TV or SOMETHING. I would totally watch Food Network while running. Your cookies look fabulous! Hope to have some time this week to make them.

  4. Love your post, just made me laugh out loud. Truer words were never spoken. Why must there always be a battle between good and evil? 🙂 Anyway,,,,,crazy yummy cookies. Thanks for a nice read this Sunday morning.
    ~ denise

  5. Ah….j’étais mêlée entre les grammes et les onces! Je pensais que tu mettais 2 sacs de chipits!!!!! Je viens de les faire, un délice!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

