Spicy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Spicy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Spicy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

This was a lunch special I prepared for Matt and I.  I loved it and I felt it was a delicious filling lunch.  Matt thought it was a snack.  Hence the difference between men and women…well….in my house anyway.  Hummus is not considered a full meal for my husband.  Our daughters and I ,on the other hand, could eat it as a completely meal pretty much any day.

This topic is somewhat a touchy subject for me.  Matt keeps getting on me to cut down the “carbs” at meal time…because you know he read somewhere that carbs are killing us….OK….BUT the thing is: if I don’t give him a filling meal he then will devour a whole bag of Doritos and if by chance I was playing healthy that week and decided NOT to buy “crap” then he will act like an angry/hungry wolf and search our home for something (anything) to eat.

So….here I am.  I make this healthy delicious lunch and my husband thinks it a snack.  Welcome to my world.

Ingredients:

1 can chickpeas, drained

1 whole roasted red pepper (from jar or homemade)

4 tablespoons tahini

1 garlic clove, peeled and roughly chopped

1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

2 teaspoons lemon juice

Salt and Pepper to taste

1-2 tablespoons olive oil (for serving)

3 tablespoons chopped roasted red pepper (for serving, optional)

How to:

In your food processor, or blender or Ninja (in my case) put all your ingredients and press start!  Puree until you have a very smooth texture.  Taste and add your salt and pepper to taste.  Puree for 10-15 seconds more.  Voila!  Put into your serving bowl, drizzle with olive oil and top with your chopped roasted red pepper.  Serve with warm pita bread, carrots and celery sticks…or whatever your heart desires 🙂

doesn't that look lovely?

doesn’t that look lovely?

yummmmmmylicious!

yummmmmmylicious!

who needs carbs anyway...!

who needs carbs anyway?…!

Printer Friendly: Spicy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Peace and Carb Up,

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Spicy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

  1. Isabelle, your roasted red pepper hummus sounds soooo good. I could make a meal out of it, too! (Actually, I do — my hubby won’t touch it — more for me. Lol!) Maybe you could make a “pita pizza” with hummus, grilled chicken, veggies, & cheese so your hubby feels more full? (Carbs in moderation?) Gotta love ’em! xo

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

