Kale Salad

Kale Salad

Kale Salad

I know….Kale is the new black.  I mean we can’t go anywhere these days without kale being IT.  It’s fabulous, it’s good for you, it’s a super food, it’s healthy, it’s easy to grow…blah, blah, blah….

I don’t want to sound like a broken record here but I have been a super fan of this super food for many years now.  Last year my crop of kale was simply amazing.  We were able to blanch and freeze loads of kale for these winter months.  So why am I making a fresh kale salad?  Because I color outside the lines, I walk to the beat of my own drums, I like to complicate my life as best I can, and on and on!

Fact is: now and then in the middle of winter your body still craves fresh stuff even if your freezer is overflowing with delicious food from your very own garden!

Ingredients:

For the vinaigrette:

1/2 onion minced

2 tablespoons white wine vinegar

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 teaspoon dijon mustard

1/3 cup olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

For the salad:

6 cups fresh kale, thinly sliced/chiffonade

1 whole red pepper thinly sliced (or about 6 small red peppers)

4 green onions, thinly sliced

3/4 cup fresh parsley, roughly chopped

1/2 cup toasted pine nuts

1/2 cup fresh mozzarella, cubed (optional)

How to:

For the vinaigrette:

In a large bowl combine your onion, vinegar, lemon juice and dijon mustard.  Whisk well.  Slowly add your olive oil and continue whisking until you get a smooth consistency.  Taste, add your salt and pepper to your liking.  Set aside.

this is a great salad dressing for many different salads you might like

this is a great vinaigrette for many different salads you might like

For the salad:

Prep all your salad ingredients.  *You must thinly slice or chiffonade your kale.

you must first remove the "tough" stem of your kale

you must first remove the “tough” stem of your kale

chiffonade (fancy cooking word for thinly sliced!)

chiffonade (fancy cooking term for thinly sliced!)

Add your kale, red pepper, green onion and parsley to your vinaigrette.  Toss everything well and let this sit/marinate for about 10 minutes.  The kale will absorb all the wonderful flavors of your vinaigrette and take some of the bitterness out.  Add your pine nuts and and mozzarella (if using) toss well and serve.

all in!  Time to "debitter"...I am aware that is not a cooking term ;)

all in! Time to “debitter”…I am aware that is not a cooking term 😉

so gorgeous, so delicious and so good for you! YAY Super Food!

so gorgeous, so delicious and so good for you! YAY Super Food!

Printer Friendly: Kale Salad

Peace and Be Fresh,

Isabelle

9 thoughts on “Kale Salad

  1. Hi Isabelle I have been reading your blog for over a year now. I am a friend of Anna Krista Davidson’s (in Montreal), our sons play sports together. I just want to tell you that I love love love your blog. You are funny and witty and you put a smile on my face every time I read something from you. I love this Kale salad recipe (I’m going to make it tonight). Have been eating Kale since I was a baby (I’m Portuguese) one of our most traditional soups – Caldo Verde – is made with just Kale, potatoes garlic and coriander. I am certain you would really love it. Anyway, cheers to you. Love your recipes, love your spirit, THANK YOU for sharing it with us. Cheers! Cynthia

    • Hi Cynthia! Thank you so much for reading my blog. It really does mean the world to me when I get comments from readers and friends! As luck would have it I just saw a recipe for Caldo Verde in a Cook’s Illustrated Magazine, it had some sort of ground meat in it (I might be wrong). I so want to try it because of the kale (I am such a trend follower! ha!) all kidding aside it did look delicious! Hopefully if I can blog about it I will do it justice! Thanks again for reading!

      • How about I send you an authentic recipe (definitely NO ground meat), sometimes a few thin slices of chorizo for garnish (yummy!)

      • Hi Isabelle, hope you are doing well. I am still following your blog and the last time we communicated I promised you an authentic Portuguese kale soup recipe (last February). I never make it myself because my mom’s is sooo good and she always gave us extra if she made a batch. Anyway, I was going to go over and write down the recipe as she made it because she never measures anything (drives me crazy getting recipes from her). Unfortunately my mom suffered a massive brain aneurysm last March and life as I knew it has changed dramatically. Talk about regrets, there are so many other recipes I should have taken the time to get from her. Well she is finally out of the hospital and is now living in an assisted living home and things are falling into a different kind of “normal” life for us. So here I am back at my computer looking at recipes and food because it’s one of my favorite ways to relax. I have had you in the back of my mind knowing that I owed you this soup recipe so I found the closest recipe I could to my mom’s on the Portuguese websites. I have it in a word document that I can email to you if you want to send me an email at cynthiagetsmail@gmail,com. I will forward it along to you and hopefully you will make it and enjoy it as much as my family does. Keep writing your wonderful blog, it gives people like me great pleasure. I love your approach to life and I love that food is always at the heart of it all.
        Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

