Boeuf en Croute/Beef Pie

Boeuf en Croute/Beef Pie

Boeuf en Croute/Beef Pie

I actually had a difficult time translating this dish.  I mean it should be so simple yet it didn’t make sense in my head.  Beef  “in” crust…Beef “with” crust…Beef “topped with” crust…and on and on.  So bottom line, you have a delicious beef mixture topped with a golden crust.  Simple, quick, cheap and delicious!  There you have French Canadian cooking at it’s best!

I have to tell you a little bit of funny stuff that has been happening….my daughters’ friends have started referring to me as: Isabelle at home.  It’s odd.  I mean, I know it’s the name of my blog but to be actually called that in the middle of the hallway at the high school kind of makes you want to hide in a corner.  Also, oddly and nicely enough, some of Bear’s friends are following my blog!  They have even asked her if I really feed them the food on my blog!  Yup…I torture Bear and Sunshine at every meal with what ever creation I stumble upon that day!

quite the soul warming dish

quite the soul warming dish

Recipe adapted from: Coup De Pouce

Ingredients:

For the dough:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup shortening, cold

2/3 cup milk

For the meat:

2 lbs ground beef (or pork or chicken or turkey if you prefer)

1 carrot, peeled and diced

1 celery stick, diced

1 onion, diced

2 garlic cloves ,crushed and finely chopped

1 14.5-ounce can fire roasted tomatoes (NOT DRAINED)

1/2 cup dry red wine

1 tablespoon fresh thyme

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard salt and pepper to taste

How to:

For the dough:

In a large bowl combine your flour, baking powder and salt.  Using a pastry cutter or two knives cut your shortening into your flour mixture until your get a “large breadcrumbs” mixture.  Slowly add your milk and stir until your dough starts coming together.  Drop your dough onto a flour board and mix until you have smooth texture.  Wrap your dough in plastic wrap and put in your fridge for 30 minutes.

OR BUY THE ALREADY MADE STUFF….life is short….! (and yes….for once I made it from scratch!)

my dough effort!

my dough effort!

For the meat mixture:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.

In a medium sized Dutch oven, brown your meat.  You may have to do it in two installments, remove browned meat to a side plate.

Add a tablespoon of olive oil to your Dutch oven, add your onion, carrots and celery.  Sautee until soft and fragrant, about 3-5 minutes.  Add your garlic and cook for another minute or so.  Return your meat and all the juices to your pan.  Add your wine and cook for 3-4 minutes until slightly reduced.  Add your tomatoes, thyme and Dijon mustard.  Stir well, taste and adjust seasoning if needed.  Keep warm.

I love the bright orange popping through

I love the bright orange popping through

On a floured surface roll your dough to fit your pan.  Top your meat mixture with your dough and cut the extra if needed.  Make sure your dough is hanging over the side of your Dutch oven, and also laying flat on the meat.  Using a knife make 3 small incisions (pretend to be a surgeon) in your dough to let the steam escape!

ready to go

ready to go

Put in your preheated oven and bake for 20-25 minutes until golden.

ready to dig in?

ready to dig in?

Serve!

the aroma alone will drive you crazy!

the aroma alone will drive you crazy!

take a bite and smile....that's what I did!

take a bite and smile….that’s what I did!

Printer Friendly:  Boeuf en Croute-Beef Pie

Peace and Teenagers…… !

Isabelle

2 thoughts on “Boeuf en Croute/Beef Pie

  1. Isabelle, this looks delicious. I want to try it. There is a similar dish that I know from West Africa called meat pie in which beef is baked in individual hand pie crusts. Very delicious. I enjoyed this post. Thank you 🙂

  2. I know what you mean by translating recipe… I have the same problem explaining “Sucre a la creme” to my husband… Sugar cream, Creamed Sugar… the list goes on!! Great blog 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

