Pumpkin Bread with Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin Bread

This pumpkin bread has a story.  It’s my salvation for making cookies that were so bad even I couldn’t bring myself to eat them after it took me almost a whole day to make them.  I should have known, cookies this complicated and tidious aren’t usually worth it.  My opinion don’t send hate mail!  It’s just that sometime you spend so much energy and time on something that in all reality should be extra simple….hmmmmm like COOKIES!  And the end product is less than stellar.  Case and point these cookies.

AND YES….I followed the exact recipe!  You know that’s a pet peeve of mine to complain about a recipe if you haven’t followed it exactly.  Well I did.  And the cookies didn’t work out.  Oh well.  Better luck next time!

So in order to redeem myself and make my peeps happy I decided to try my hand at Alton Brown /Captain Know-it-all’s recipe for pumpkin bread.  It has actual toasted pumpkin seeds in it! YUMMY!

confession...I didn't let the bread cool and sliced it for this pic....day light is a pain right now!

confession…I didn’t let the bread cool and sliced it for this pic….day light is a pain right now!

You have to try this recipe, it is absolutely divine!  Such a simple addition….pumpkin seeds….genius!

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cups sugar

3/4 cup vegetable oil

3 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 cups shredded fresh pumpkin (regular pumpkin works but NOT pumpkin pie mix)

1 cup toasted pumpkin seeds (also known as pepitas)

How to:

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Spray or butter & flour a 9X5X3-inch loaf pan.  Set aside.

Combine your flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together.  Set aside.

In a separate bowl, mix your sugar, vegetable oil, eggs and vanilla.  Combine both mixtures and fold in the shredded pumpkin and pumpkin seeds.  Once the ingredients are all incorporated pour into your prepared loaf pan.

stunning batter

stunning batter

Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes.  At this point a knife inserted into the middle of the loaf should come out clean.  Cool for 15 minutes and turn out onto a cooling rack.  Cool completely.

ready!  Smells like pumpkin heaven!

ready! Smells like pumpkin heaven!

Smear with loads of butter and enjoy!

time to dig in/slice in :)

time to dig in/slice in 🙂

Note: my bread took longer, approx 1hr 45mins, Alton’s pan is larger than what I have.  Just make sure a knife or toothpick comes out clean, that’s the key.  Also I had organic pumpkin (that I roasted and froze) but again I think you may be OK with organic canned pumpkin.

not too photogenic at this time of year with limited daylight but it is absolutely amazing!

not too photogenic at this time of year with limited daylight but it is absolutely amazing!

Printer friendly: Pumpkin Bread

Peace and Redemption is sweet,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bread with Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

  1. When I first read the title, I read “pumpkin bread IN the toaster”. Don’t judge. It’s 7:20 in the morning and I’m still in bed.lol It looks delicious! I have been having lighting difficulties lately too. Everything seems to have a blue tint. Thank goodness for PhotoShop. When I remember to use it. Haha

  2. Pingback: Almond Oatmeal Chocolate Chunk Cookies | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

