Chicken and Mushroom Stew

Chicken and Mushroom Stew

Chicken and Mushroom Stew

I might be over doing it with my fall menu.  We have been eating stews and roast like it’s going out of style.  And to make matters worse, this is the second time in one week I make this stew.  I don’t often make the same thing twice but especially not twice in one week…..hazards of being a food blogger, we tend to try new stuff on our beloved families pretty much at every meal!

This stew is something I have been thinking about for a while.  My first attempt was actually pretty good.  BUT it left zero leftovers.  I mean it fed us for dinner and that was pretty much it.  I like leftovers.  Also I felt the ratio of mushrooms to chickens was not right.  I needed more mushrooms.  Finally I served this over rice.  Didn’t work for me.  I see extra-wide egg noodles as a much better option.  I didn’t have egg noodles that day and since I am trying to stick to my “don’t go back to the grocery store use what you have on hand” I had to use rice!

The second attempt gave me results I was far more satisfied with and now a keeper!  This recipe will yield enough for 5-6 peeps or 4 with plenty leftovers.

The original plating of my stew. Delicious but a work in progress.

The original plating of my stew. Delicious but a work in progress.

Ingredients:

5 slices bacon, chopped

3 lbs chicken thighs boneless, skinless and cut into bite size pieces (salt and pepper your chicken)

5 tablespoons butter

5 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 onion, chopped

3 celery rib, chopped

2 cups dry white wine

4 cups low-sodium chicken broth

1.5 lbs mushrooms, white button, mini portabella, quartered (3 8-ounce packages)

1 tablespoon fresh thyme

1 tablespoon fresh rosemary

1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

Salt and Pepper, to taste

How to:

In a large Dutch oven, sautee your chopped bacon until crispy.  Remove to a side plate.  Working in batches brown your chicken, removing each batch to a side plate.  Set chicken aside.  Add your onion and celery, gently cook until soft and fragrant.  *You may add some olive oil to pan after browning your chicken if needed.  Sprinkle your flour over your vegetables and cook for 1-2 minutes.  Add your wine to your pan.  Using a wooden spoon gently scrap the bottom of your pan (flavor!!!)  let your mixture gently thicken.  Add your chicken broth.   Add your soy sauce, Dijon mustard and Worcestershire sauce, whisk until combined.  Return your chicken and bacon to your pot.  Add your mushrooms and fresh herbs, bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer, partially covered and cook for 1 1/2 to 2 hours on medium low heat.  Stirring occasionally.

from start....

from start….

to finish....oh my!

to finish….oh my!

Serve over egg noodles.

this is the right way to do it!  Simply amazing!

this is the right way to do it! Simply amazing!

Note: this stew is amazing…. but it’s mind-blowing the next day.  I prepped this on Sunday for our Monday night supper.  Work, lacrosse practice and life had us going in all kinds of directions.  I simply re-heated my stew on the stove top and wow!  it was amazing!  It’s as if the flavors decided to triple in sizes!

one last close up!

one last close up!

Printer Friendly: Chicken and Mushroom Stew

Peace and Full of Hazards,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Chicken and Mushroom Stew

  1. Looks yummy although I’m not a big fan of mushrooms! I’m so glad you like to cook and try new recipes. I can follow a recipe, but not great at taking what’s on hand and making it into a delicious meal. I’m more the crafty type. Give me some paper or fabric, some glue or thread and I can make just about anything!

  2. Here’s to triple sized flavors, Isabelle! This sounds incredible (as were your egg noodle recommendations and know-how in the kitchen.) I work with “what’s there” on a daily basis, too — including rice — but egg noodles + extra stew = happy eaters. (For several meals!)

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

