Blue Ribbon Apple Pie

Blue Ribbon Apple Pie

Blue Ribbon Apple Pie

My friend Chris gave me her mom’s apple pie recipe.  It won the blue ribbon at a state fair!  That’s pretty darn good if you ask me!  I have never entered into any cooking contests.  I know this may sound surprising being that I love to cook and bake….but what isn’t surprising is that I can never get my act together long enough to take the time to enter into cooking or baking contest.  My cornbread was once in a contest…one that I did not enter into but someone else did….interesting.  They did give me credit but not much else!  Oh well….you win some and you lose some!

Now this pie….it’s amazing!  I mean, really really amazing.  It does have those secret magical ingredients.  It’s the vinegar.  I know.  Weird perhaps but when I read the recipe and saw that- I knew right away why that would take it to another level.  I wasn’t wrong.

Chris and her husband Shawn came over the other night for a casual dinner and a few card games (which Chris and I won against the boys!).  I made some chili and my cornbread.  I also made Chris’ mom’s apple pie.  Chris said I did great!  YAY ME!  I was a bit worried I wouldn’t do this wonderful pie justice but turns out; I can follow directions when push comes to shove!

gorgeous & delicious, it's a winner!

gorgeous & delicious, it’s a winner!

Ingredients:

For the filling:

12 apples, peeled, cored and sliced (not too thin…not too thick….yup!)

1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

dash salt

1 tablespoon vinegar

For the topping:

1 stick butter, cold

3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 pie crust (homemade, store-bought, borrowed or stolen!)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees F.

Line your pie plate with your pie dough.  Set aside.

In a large bowl (remember 12 apples!) combine your apples with your sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and vinegar.  Toss well to combine, careful of flying apples!  Put in your pie crust.  Set aside.

a mountain of apples!

a mountain of apples!

In a not so large bowl, combine your butter, brown sugar, sugar and flour.  Using a pastry cutter (or your could do this in your food processor….but we know I like the long cuts versus the short cuts!)  combine your ingredients until you have a crumbly mixture.

does it make me a bad person if I admit I was eating this...it's really really good!

does it make me a bad person if I admit I was eating this…it’s really really good!

Carefully (and I mean carefully!) put your mixture on top of your mountain of apples.

got to work with your hands on that one!

got to work with your hands on that one!

Put in your preheated oven for 20 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350 degrees F. and bake for another 35 minutes.  Remove from oven and let rest until ready to serve.

Hello there! Stunning apple pie!

Hello there! Stunning apple pie!

here's a close look!

here’s a closer look!

Scrumptious, amazingly fabulous, delicious, delectable, flavorful, crunchy, sweet & tart, perfect…..a true BLUE RIBBON WORTHY PIE!

please believe me when I tell you that this pie will make you look like a ROCK STAR

please believe me when I tell you that this pie will make you look like a ROCK STAR

Note: 12 apples….I know!  I actually texted Chris and asked: “12? really?”  She said”: “yes, medium/normal size apples”.  Therefore, please use your judgement/intuition/gut feeling/know how….good?…..good!

Another note: I had CAMEO apples from our local orchard, it’s a “sweet tart” apple, the recipe didn’t specify what kind of apples so I decided this would work.  In all honesty you should use what you like and what you have on hand. 🙂

Printer Friendly: Blue Ribbon Apple Pie

Peace and Be Blue Ribbon Worthy,

Isabelle

I shared my recipe here as well:

6 thoughts on “Blue Ribbon Apple Pie

  1. Hi Isabelle,

    Thanks for all your recipes. Your mother-in-law Penny turned me onto your blog since she knows I like to cook.

    What type of apples did you use? A sour apple like a Macintosh or a sweeter apple like a Gala?

    Thanks Deb

    Deborah Richard

  2. My family loves the apple pie I make, but this just looks delicious. I’m going to give it a try and let you know what they think. What kind of apples did you use? I always use granny smith.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

