Ham and Bean Soup

Ham and Bean Soup

Ham and Bean Soup

It’s Fall.  Got to go with the flow I guess.  That and I have so much ham to use I don’t know how many ways I can “re-invent” a ham and cheese sandwich!  So soup it is!

It also happens to be a favorite of Mr. Man….I have to keep the man fed and happy, right?  😉

I am not re-inventing the wheel on this one, it’s a classic.  Can’t mess with success!

simply ham and bean....can't go wrong with ham and beans!

simple ham and bean soup….can’t go wrong with ham and beans!

Ingredients:

4-ounces (weight) diced pancetta (or bacon) about 1 cup

4 carrots peeled diced

4 celery sticks diced

2 medium onions peeled and diced

4 15-ounces cans Northern Beans, drained and rinsed

4 cups cooked ham, diced

2 bay leaves

1 heaping tablespoon fresh thyme

Salt and Pepper to taste

8 cups low-sodium vegetable broth (or chicken)

big splash hot sauce

How to:

In a large soup pot (I used my large Creuset pot) render your pancetta (or bacon) until crispy but not burnt.  Using a slotted spoon remove your pancetta to a side plate, do not clean your pot, add your onions, carrots, and celery, cook until tender and fragrant, about 5 or so minutes.  Add your diced ham and cook for another 2-3 minutes until ham is lightly browned.   Add your northern beans, bay leaves, fresh thyme, salt and pepper gently stir and cook for 1-2 minutes.  Add your vegetable broth and splash of hot sauce, bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer and cook on medium-low for 2 hours.  The soup will reduce slightly, taste and adjust seasoning if needed.  Serve.

one pot and all this magic happens!

one pot and all this magic happens!

This is a classic, simple yet hearth warming soup.  Perfect for fall or winter.  Simple ingredients can truly transform into something magical and soul satisfying dishes.  Give it a try.

delicious

delicious

Printer Friendly:  Ham and Bean Soup

Peace and Be a Ham,

Isabelle

I share my recipe here as well:

5 thoughts on “Ham and Bean Soup

  1. I can’t get enough of these dense and rich soups during winter time, especially german einkopf or eastern-european soups. I’ll definitely try this one out, thanks for tip!

  2. Isabelle, I can’t wait to try your recipe out on my hubby. Sauteeing the veggies & ham (after the bacon) sounds like a great flavor addition! Yup, it’s a classic — like you!

  3. Pingback: Soups Round Up | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

