Creamed Mushrooms

Creamed Mushrooms

Creamed Mushrooms

Making this recipe was a total happenstance.  Thing is, I was looking for my mom’s crepe recipe.  Once a year my lovely daughter will sign me up to make Nutella Crepes for her whole French class.  I am honored to do it.  It takes pretty much a whole evening to prep and make 40 or so crepes.  Then of course at least a good hour the next morning to fill, fold and stack said crepes.  But it’s once a year for their “french breakfast” as a class and it’s pretty cool that I know how to do it!

I wrote my mom’s recipe in the back of the very first cookbook I ever received:

Silver Palate Cookbook...the foodie cookbook of it's era...back in the day!

Silver Palate Cookbook…the foodie cookbook of it’s era…back in the day!

The fact that I remembered where I wrote it simply astonished my father-in-law who is visiting us.  He couldn’t believe it when I said that I not only knew where I wrote it but when and why!  Now if only I remembered where I put my car keys or my cell phone most days then YES that would be astonishing!

As you would imagine I could not simply look at the crepe recipe….I had to start flipping through the cookbook and kept wondering why I had not made this or that recipe….finally I stopped at the Creamed Mushrooms…they sounded too delicious to pass up!

absolutely the best mushrooms I have ever eaten...ever!

absolutely the best mushrooms I have ever eaten…ever!

I did change a few things….just a few I promise 😉

Ingredients:

2 lbs fresh white mushrooms (I used 1lb. white mushrooms and 1lb. mini bella mushrooms)

4 tablespoons salted butter

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

pinch grated nutmeg

1/3 cup heavy cream

2 tablespoons dry red wine

1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce

1 heaping tablespoon fresh thyme

How to:

Cut mushrooms into thick slices.  In a large pan, melt the butter.  Add your mushrooms, raise the heat, and toss and stir until mushrooms render their juices, about 5 minutes.  Lower the heat, season mushrooms with salt, pepper and nutmeg, and cook uncovered for another 5 minutes.  With a slotted spoon, transfer mushrooms to a bowl.  Add your cream, wine, soy sauce and fresh thyme to the juices in the skillet and bring to a boil.  Cook until reduced by about half.  Return mushrooms to the skillet and simmer for another minute or two to heat through.

my 'shrooms!

my ‘shrooms!

nice thick slices all in the pan!

nice thick slices all in the pan!

it's cookin'

it’s cookin’

the smell....the color....and the TASTE! OH MY WORD!

the smell….the color….and the TASTE! OH MY WORD!

Serve….honestly these are so delicious I about ate the whole pan while making them.  Ridiculously flavorful and to think of how few ingredients it took to make such an amazing dish.  You could serve these so many ways: over a nice piece of toasted country bread, as a burger topping, over a nice thick slice of meatloaf (our dinner…sorry no pic!), over fresh spinach with a poached egg (my lunch next day, see pic below) folded into an omelet, as a topping for a nice thick steak…and on and on…so many possibilities.

oh my sweet heaven this was an amazing leftover lunch!  SUPERB!

oh my sweet heaven this was an amazing leftover lunch! SUPERB!

Printer Friendly: Creamed Mushrooms

Peace and ASTONISHING!

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “Creamed Mushrooms

  1. Thank you, I have tried these before but without the wine and soy sauce. I’m sure yours is tastier, I had them over filet steak….;)

  2. Oh!!! I wish I’d seen your recipe before I made supper last night! (Good thing I have to run into town this morning… I know what I’ll be making tonight.) You ARE astonishing, Isabelle, volunteering to make crepes for French class. That is such a sweet, lovely, Isabelle thing to do! xo I’m also thinking I might have to make poached eggs for supper… that looks SOOOO good.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

