Peanut Butter Cake

Peanut Butter Cake

Peanut Butter Cake

I love my husband.  I love that he is Captain of The Nice People Club… (a club I have NEVER been invited to…surprisingly!) but honestly I think he doesn’t know how to say no to people.  He went to a local Health/Holistic Fair for his magazine.  He met a lot of lovely people….and he bought me a small cookbook.

So anyway the cookbook (if you can call it) is filled with lovely homemade little recipes.  All of which benefits an animal shelter, so in his defense it all went to a good cause.  Problem is: I am a cookbook addict.  If I get a new one I HAVE to make something from the cookbook IMMEDIATELY….so on this lovely and rainy Sunday I decided that the Peanut Butter Cake with Peanut Butter Icing was my only choice.

1. I have all the ingredients

2. Peanut Butter is one of my fave

3. I didn’t have a dessert (which is also a problem when you are trying to be good and not eat too many sweets….)

4. My peeps like cake

and finally 5. I could make this cake with my eyes closed and holding a drink! (and I did!!!!!!)

a perfect choice if you ask me :)

a perfect choice if you ask me 🙂

Ingredients:

For the cake:

1 stick unsalted butter

1 cup water

1 cup peanut butter (creamy or crunchy)

2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup canola oil

1/2 cup milk (I use 2% organic milk)

For the icing:

1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature/softened

1 cup peanut butter

1/3 cup milk

3/4 cup brown sugar

How to:

For the cake:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease or spray a 9X13 baking pan.  Set aside.

In a medium size saucepan combine your butter, water and peanut butter.  Gently bring to a boil and let simmer for 2-3 minutes.  Let cool to room temperature.  (the mixture will thicken and somewhat separate as it cools but use a whisk and combine again)

try to contain your excitement while you look at this peanut butter mixture....riveting!

try to contain your excitement while you look at this peanut butter mixture….riveting!

In your mixer combine your flour, sugars, baking powder.  Add your vanilla, eggs, oil and milk.  Mix until just combined.  Scrape the sides of your bowl and add your cooled peanut butter mixture.  Combine well.  Pour into your prepared pan and bake in your preheated oven for 30 minutes.  Let cool to room temperature.

badabing....

badabing….

badaboom....cake done!

badaboom….cake done!

For the icing: 

In your mixer combine your butter, peanut butter, milk and brown sugar, whip until light and fluffy.  Spread over your cake.

I dusted mine with a little cocoa powder...fancy, right?

I dusted mine with a little cocoa powder…fancy, right?

I absolutely love this cake, it’s easy, it’s great for a get-together or get well surprise (please make sure they are not allergic to peanuts!)  I think pretty much everyone has these ingredients on hand!  That’s a pretty darn good recipe in my mind when you don’t need to reinvent the wheel and make something tasty and pleasing to everyone!

moist and the perfect treat for everyone!

moist and the perfect treat for everyone!

note: I did change a few things for this recipe (of course….I can’t leave anything well enough alone)  In my defense you will notice that the cookbook claims to be sugar-free….well the cake was calling for 2 cups of sugar and the icing 1 1/2 cups….mmmm that’s a bit much….even for me!

mmmmm Sugar-free??? regardless LOTS of delicious recipes!

mmmmm Sugar-free??? regardless LOTS of delicious recipes!

Printer Friendly: Peanut Butter Cake

one more pic before I say goodbye...it's a pretty photogenic cake if you ask me!

one more pic before I say goodbye…it’s a pretty photogenic cake if you ask me!

Peace and Just say NO….if you can!

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cake

  1. Wow! I was so excited when I scrolled down and saw “sugar-free” in the title! I would love to know if the other recipes in the book are truly sugar-free. In any event, I am perfectly happy with some sugar. Thanks!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

