Cream of Roasted Tomato Soup with Pesto Shrimp

Cream of Roasted Tomato Soup with Pesto Shrimp

Cream of Roasted Tomato Soup with Pesto Shrimp

I have to say I have never been a fan of cream of tomato soup.  I don’t know about you but it’s a total flash back to the canned stuff my mom would serve with grilled cheese sandwiches.  My brother and her would dig in like crazy and I would have a peanut butter or molasses sandwich (it’s a family thing).  This year however I have been blessed with lots of tomatoes….and by blessed I mean I have canned so much that I have enough to carry us through the long nasty winter months.  I needed a little creativity with the final crop.

So with my last few tomatoes, I decided to “welcome” fall with some more roasted tomatoes and turn them into a lovely soup.  Hopefully this will be a nice change for my lack of cream of tomato excitement!

well hello gorgeous!

well hello gorgeous!

Ingredients:

For the soup:

2 1/2 lbs tomatoes, quartered

2 medium onions, quartered

4 garlic cloves, peeled

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 “twig” of each fresh rosemary, thyme and oregano

4 cups low-sodium vegetable broth (chicken broth will work as well)

1/2 cup milk (or cream if you are feeling particularly frisky!)

For the pesto shrimp:

4 cups fresh spinach

1/2 cup almond

1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar

4 garlic cloves, peeled

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

3/4 cup olive oil

1lb raw shrimp, peeled & cleaned

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large bowl combine your tomatoes, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, olive oil (1 tablespoon) and fresh herbs.  Toss lightly to combine and pour onto a baking sheet.  Roast in your preheated oven for 40 minutes.  Remove fresh herbs twigs.  Let cool slightly.

nothing is better looking than fresh from the garden veggies and herbs!

nothing is better looking than fresh from the garden veggies and herbs!

here we go!

here we go!

pure happiness = roasted vegetables!

pure happiness = roasted vegetables!

Meanwhile, prepare your pesto.  In a food processor (I use a ninja) put your spinach, almond, sharp cheddar, garlic, salt, pepper and olive oil, pulse until you get the desired consistency.

aaaaahhhh pesto is so pretty!

aaaaahhhh pesto is so pretty!

In a large bowl toss your raw shrimp with 2 heaping tablespoons of pesto.  Put your shrimp on a baking sheet and roast in your oven for 8 minutes.  Careful not to over cook your shrimp you will end up with rubber!  Set aside.

all together with lots o' flavor!

all together with lots o’ flavor!

careful not to eat all those before you finish your soup....they are addictive!

careful not to eat all those before you finish your soup….they are addictive!

In a large pot put your roasted vegetables and your vegetable broth, bring to a gentle boil for about 10-15 minutes.  Turn off your heat, using an immersion blender (or you could put everything in your blender) puree your soup to desired consistency.  Add your milk or cream, bring to a gentle simmer (no not boil) for another 5 minutes.

almost there!

almost there!

To serve, ladle your soup into your bowls, add some shrimp (I did about 6 per bowls) and top with a spoonful of pesto.

so gorgeous and simply scrumptious!

so gorgeous and simply scrumptious!

Simply delicious!  “Canned” soup has nothing on this little amazing soup!  Lots of fresh roasted tomato flavors and the pesto makes it all come together.

Note: as you know I love pesto, I always use the same technique and formula….again do as you wish, use what you have: basil, arugula, kale…pine nuts, almonds, walnuts….parmesan, swiss, romano….etc…

Printer Friendly:  Cream of Roasted Tomatoes Soup with Pesto Shrimp

Peace and in case you didn’t know I was using my sarcastic font to say “welcome” fall…. 😦

Isabelle

I shared my recipe here as well:

2 thoughts on “Cream of Roasted Tomato Soup with Pesto Shrimp

  1. Pingback: Soups Round Up | Isabelle at home

  2. Pingback: Tomato Soup Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

