Nutella and Peanut Butter Cookies

Nutella Peanut Butter Cookies

Nutella Peanut Butter Cookies

If you are looking for a low-fat or diet cookie you may as well stop reading now.  This isn’t the recipe for you.  This is a fun, sweet and filled with yumminess kind of cookie.  The kind you reward yourself with after a long week….or a long day…or a long life….either way I won’t judge.  You know me, any reason is a good reason to reward myself with a delicious cookie!

This all started because my friend HaeWon decided to email me a cookie recipe from King Arthur Flour ‘s website.  I think she is just trying to torture me or see how long I can stand it before I make up an excuse to make these cookies!  Nice….real nice!  So I got the email last night and I am making them of course the very next day!  Such will power I have!  My reason?  The girls are having a bunch of friends over.  The older ones are taking over the basement while the “not so little anymore” ones are hanging upstairs….kids everywhere!  The menu is: make your own pizza night.  Simple, easy and teen approved.  Of course they need a little something sweet to round things off.  Cookies are the BESTEST to make all happy!  And Nutella….well Nutella is liquid gold in our house!

You think I am kidding…..check out what I found at Restaurant Depot the other day:

7lbs tub of Nutella...that's just insane!

7lbs tub of Nutella…that’s just insane!

Yes I changed the recipe a little bit.  That’s how it goes when I bake, or cook or pretty much do anything…I make it mine!

pretty, colorful and yummy cookies!

pretty, colorful and yummy cookies!

Ingredients:

1/3 cup vegetable shortening (you could use butter but it will change the texture)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 tablespoon cold coffee (stronger the better)

1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup Nutella (or any Nutella substitute you like)

1 to 1 1/2 cups Peanut Butter M&Ms

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Line your baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone mat.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl combine your flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In your mixer cream your shortening with both sugars.  Add your egg, vanilla and coffee, combine well.  Add your flour mixture, do not over mix.  Add your Nutella, again – do not over mix.  Your dough will be somewhat crumbly.  You may want to add another tablespoon of coffee, but know that you will get a different texture.  If there is more moisture in the dough it will spread out more and be less chewy.  Add your M&Ms using a wooden spoon (if you use your mixer you will crush all the M&Ms which is sad).

Using a medium (tablespoon size) scoop spoon your cookie dough onto your prepared pans.  Gently press down on each cookie.  Bake in your preheated oven for 11-12 minutes.

not the easiest dough to scoop but well worth the effort

not the easiest dough to scoop but well worth the effort

another view of the raw dough, please ignore my well worn silpat!

another view of the raw dough, please ignore my well worn silpat!

Note: this dough is very crumbly, also the M&Ms are big and you may have to move things around until everything is distributed evenly.  Also you could use chocolate chips or peanut butter chips if you don’t like M&Ms.  However they do give a wonderful little crunch to the cookies.

Fresh out of the oven smelling deeeeeeelicious!

Fresh out of the oven smelling deeeeeeelicious!

I just love the look of this cookie!

I just love the look of these cookies!

Printer Friendly: Nutella and Peanut Butter Cookies

take a closer look inside...madness! :)

take a closer look inside…madness! 🙂

Peace and I have great friends,

Isabelle

NOTE: My friend HaeWon has a cool new blog: Mom Of All Trades.  You really should go check it out….she is the ULTIMATE multi-tasker!  Just when I think I have accomplished a lot she posts something incredible… and she is training for marathonssssss I feel like a slug! …..crazy woman!  🙂

Find my recipe here as well:

5 thoughts on “Nutella and Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Isabelle, I loved your disclaimer at the beginning of this post and the gigantic tub of Nutella confirmed the fact — your kitchen is serious cookie-making territory! I bet the kids loved ’em (and the homemade pizza, too.) What a great Mom! What a great cookie baker!

  2. Pingback: National Homemade Cookie Day | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

