Grilled Potato Pesto Salad

Grilled Potato Pesto Salad....bad picture delicious none the less

Grilled Potato Pesto Salad….bad picture, delicious none the less

Beware….the next few paragraphs have NOTHING to do with this delicious potato salad!

Fact: I am clumsy

Fact: I have said this about a million gazillion times before

Fact: people who live with me KNOW I am very clumsy

Fact: one would think that said people would not make our home an obstacle course….one would be wrong

Proof…..

So the other morning at around 5:35am I decided that I could no longer wait and HAD to get up and use the facility….also known as the toilet (sorry to be so blunt) it’s pitch black (it usually is at 5:35am) and I walk right into this not closed not open door that my sweet husband left for me!

not the best picture but you get the idea

not the best picture but you get the idea

The thud was so loud and the especially awful grunt that left my lungs woke my husband up in a flash.  I hit the ground and started to moan.  Not in a pretty sexy way either.  He said: “where are you?”  (because you know it’s STILL pitch black at this point!!!).  I didn’t have the presence of mind to answer.  I was confused and on the verge of tears (yes I have to be honest, I wanted to cry).  Matt turned on the bathroom light and came to my rescue.  I didn’t cry because he lives with three women and he thinks crying is too much….I kind of see his point.  So I held back the tears.  I am strong like that!??  He then realized what he had done (yes it’s his fault) in the middle of the night when he got up to use the facility he decided it would be a wonderful awesome idea to “kind of close the door” so we didn’t hear the wind flapping our bathroom vent and making noises….mmmmmm this is where I am confused.  Wouldn’t you close the door ALL the way in order to keep the noise out?  I am wondering if he is preparing me for something…maybe he signed us up for the Amazing Race and wants me to be on alert?  Or is this amusing?  Either way I am going to milk this injury for all its worth!

Yes, this story has nothing to do with my delicious potato salad but it happened at the same time…sort of…I don’t make potato salad at 5:35am.  I usually sleep and don’t hit doors with my face!

So here is a fantastic and not so full of mayo potato salad!

wow....my bowl is really messy!  Usually means it was extra good!

wow….my bowl is really messy! Usually means it was extra good!

Ingredients:

For the potatoes:

2lbs potatoes, peeled and sliced into 1-inch thick slices

Salt & Pepper

3-4 tablespoons olive oil

For the Pesto:

4 cups packed basil leaves (or arugula, spinach, kale, beet greens…etc..)

1/2 cup toasted pine nuts (or almonds, pecans, walnuts, pepitas..etc..)

1/2 cup parmesan cheese (or romano, sharp cheddar, swiss, etc…no soft cheeses)

5-6 garlic cloves

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

3/4 cup olive oil

How to:

For the potatoes:

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add a heaping tablespoon of salt.  Add your sliced potatoes and cook for about 4 minutes until not quite done.  Drain and let cool for 10 minutes or so.  Add your olive oil, salt and pepper.  Toss to coat your potatoes (be gentle they are tender)  Heat your grill and add your potatoes to a medium heat.  Gently grill on both side until you have lovely grilled marks.  I think 3 minutes or so per side should do it, depending on your grill.  Toss with 1 cup of freshly made pesto.  Serve with more fresh basil and parmesan cheese.

nice grilled marks!

nice grill marks!

all ready!

all ready!

For the Pesto:

Put everything in your food processor and give it your best shot!  You will need 1 cup of pesto for the potatoes, use the rest as a pizza sauce or toss with your favorite noodles or rice, so delicious!

tender, grilled and dressed with lots of pesto! Simply mouth watering.

tender, grilled and dressed with lots of pesto! Simply mouth watering.

Note:  Pesto is just a formula for me.  I use what I have.  This time I had plenty beet greens from my garden, it gave my pesto a purpleish kind of hue, very pretty.  I used almonds and an Italian blend cheese.  It’s simple, go with the formula and try different themes.  Delicious and easy.

Printer Friendly: Grilled Potato Pesto Salad

Peace and Thud!

Isabelle

FYI…in defense of my sweet husband, he did admit he closed the door but evidently didn’t “shut the door” which probably means it moved to a more dangerous position in the middle of the night!

Find my recipe here as well:

10 thoughts on “Grilled Potato Pesto Salad

  1. Mmmmm. Pesto makes everything better! Sound like a fabulous salad. I like the fact that you use formulas; makes cooking so much more fun and flexible to use what you have on hand.

  2. Isabelle, I hope you didn’t bruise your pretty face!!! Pitch-dark encounters with doors (and/or walls) and/or “oops, I just bashed my hip into the kitchen counter at 5:35 a.m.” (equally confusing encounters that leave marks, trust me) are NO FUN. (Clutzes of the world unite…) Hope you’re ok! All I can say is it’s better (well, sort of) than the unexpected “dip” in the facility when the “lid” is inadvertently left up. LOL!

  3. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

