Goat Cheese and Tomato Sauce

Goat Cheese and Tomato Sauce

Goat Cheese and Tomato Sauce

I am in tomato heaven here at home.  I have processed and canned over 40lbs of tomatoes so far!  On top of which we have eaten BLTs pretty much twice a week for the past month or so.  I have made countless tomato salads and added them to numerous meals unbeknown to my family.  So why one more tomato recipe?  Simple: guilt.

The Dean and DeLuna Cookbook

The Dean and DeLuca Cookbook

Guilt that years ago I asked Grandpa Jack (Mr. Man’s paternal Grand Father) for The Dean and DeLuca Cookbook and I have NEVER made one single recipe from this cookbook.  NOT ONE!  But I HAD to have the darn cookbook.  So this morning I was rummaging through my cookbooks looking for some inspiration and there it was!  Looking right at me saying: “hey lady! I have awesome recipes from our awesome restaurant in awesome NYC”…… OK so we all know cookbooks don’t talk per say but they kind of do when you think about it….well, in my world they do!

Here is a super simple yet lovely and luscious recipe for all those scrumptious tomatoes we are enjoying this time of year!

oh my....pasta and tomato heaven!

oh my….pasta and tomato heaven!

this is pretty much the game plan...easy, right?

this is pretty much the game plan…easy, right?

Ingredients:

6 ounces fresh soft goat cheese, at room temperature

1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon olive oil

2 pounds ripe tomatoes, (about 6 medium) peeled, seeded, and finely diced

salt and pepper to taste

4 to 6 tablespoons of oil-soaked sun-dried tomatoes, shredded

Fresh basil for serving (not in original recipe but tomato and basil are BFFS!)

1 lb pasta of your choice (…I went with angel hair because that’s what I had!)

How to:

Mash together the goat cheese and olive oil in a bowl with a fork until smooth.  Gently stir in ripe tomatoes.

simple mash up!

simple mash up!

add the tomatoes...please use the proper size bowl....unlike me!

add the tomatoes…please use the proper size bowl….unlike me!

Toss with hot pasta.  (Add a little of the hot pasta cooking water if a thinner sauce is desired.)  Season with salt and pepper.  Place in bowls, and top each bowl with a tablespoon of sun-dried tomatoes and fresh basil.  Serve immediately.

my love for pasta is unreal....this is PERFECT!

my love for pasta is unreal….this is PERFECT!

Note:  I didn’t even bother peeling my tomatoes.  They were fresh, delicious and perfect from my garden.  I didn’t get one single complaint about the “no-peeling” decision!  Also I served family style instead of individual bowls.  Easier, simpler and still tasty!

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH MY WORD!

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH MY WORD!

Love that this is a no cook pasta, perfect during the hot sweltering August days.  So timely!  🙂

Printer Friendly: Goat Cheese and Tomato Sauce

Peace and I Love My Garden,

Isabelle

p.s. I had plenty for leftover the next day and it was still mouth-watering and fabulous!

Note: Please go check out my recipe and other fabulous recipes here:

2 thoughts on “Goat Cheese and Tomato Sauce

  1. Isabelle, my pasta-loving heart is swooning — I’m so glad you took that guilt trip through this cookbook! Fresh, simple, spectacular — and your addition of basil is genius. Now if I only had some of your garden fresh tomatoes… time to head to the farmers market again. (Next year I’m growing my own!) Beautiful dish by a beautiful cook. Thank you!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

