Pickled Carrots

Pickled Carrots

Pickled Carrots

I was going to name these: Isabelle’s Pickled Carrots.  Not after me, another Isabelle.  Turns out this isn’t her recipe either.  You know, the other Isabelle.  It’s from a lady named Ginette.   The Isabelle was/is the mom of 3 little girls I babysat about a million years ago.  Isabelle was, and still is (although I haven’t talked to her in ions), a lovely lady.  She was also our neighbor.  This has nothing to do with pickled carrots other than I really thought this was her recipe.  I don’t really know the Ginette lady.  She was my mom’s friend.  I was never her friend or her kids’ friend.

Bottom line: I have her recipe for pickled carrots.  I found it in an old keepsake recipe book I’ve had for years, where everything is hand written, sometime neatly, most times poorly.  Well I rambled on enough about nothing relevant, but take my word for it, these pickled carrots are delicious and actually super easy to make.  Thank you Ginette, wherever you are!

time to get the carrots pickled! :)

time to get the carrots pickled!🙂

Ingredients:

3lbs carrots cut into sticks (about 30 carrots)

1 bunch fresh dill

10-12 whole garlic cloves peeled

1/2 cup kosher salt

2 cups white vinegar

5 cups water

6 pint size mason jars, cleaned and completely dry

How to:

In a large pot filled with boiling water blanch your carrots for 30 seconds.  Put your carrots in an ice bath to stop the cooking process.  Put your carrots in your clean jars, add 1 or 2 garlic cloves and a piece of dill.  I went with a decent size piece…my notes didn’t say what size!  Set aside.

bright beautiful carrots!

bright beautiful carrots!

packed and ready for the liquid

packed and ready for the liquid

In a large pot combine your salt, vinegar and water, bring to a simmer, do not let this boil.

Fill your jars with your warm liquid, leaving about 1/2 inch head space.  Put your lids on and place in a boiling water canner for 20 minutes.   Remove from water bath and let cool completely, check your seal after 24hours, they should NOT pop when pressed.

no worries I will push down on the carrots that are trying to escape!

no worries I will push down on the carrots that are trying to escape!

my "make-do" water bath...it will be better next time

my “make-do” water bath…it will be better next time

Notes: I am not a great canning girl….yet…I am working on it.  So here are a few things I wanted to share with you.

~I guess you can make any shape carrots you want but my notes said sticks.

~I learned the hard way that you MUST truly clean your jars with soap and hot water!  You must thoroughly dry everything prior to canning.

~ You can re-process your cans if the lid didn’t seal properly OR you can put them in your fridge and it should keep for a few weeks.  We lack space in our fridge because I am a food hoarder so I need to make sure it seals properly!

~ Here is a great canning web site: Fresh Preserving

~ it seems everyone has their own little tricks when it comes to canning…do what you prefer, this is just my first attempt!

not bad for a first experience!

not bad for a first experience!

Printer Friendly: Pickled Carrots

I am happy my “first” canning experience went well.  I also made some Sweet & Spicy Pickled Cucumbers because my garden is FILLED with cucumbers this year.  I found the recipe on Tasty Kitchen, love the sweet spicy aspect!  Delicious!

pretty cucumbers from our garden!

pretty cucumbers from our garden!

Peace and Not the other Isabelle,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Pickled Carrots

  1. Here’s to your sexy pickled carrots !
    I thank you from the deepest core of my heart for coming up with such a fantastic, beautiful and useful recipe.
    Cute photos took my breath away🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

