Grilled Nectarine Salsa

Grilled Nectarine Salsa

Grilled Nectarine Salsa

I had a huge dilemma over this salsa. I mean HUGE, earth shattering dilemma, I tell ya!  Yes I am being dramatic…I mean in the grand scheme of life is Grilled Nectarine Salsa really an issue?  Nope.  It sure isn’t.  I just couldn’t make up my mind on what I wanted to put it on: burgers or frozen yogurt.  Here’s the little catch…if I put it on my burger I think I would like some red onions in it…not so much for the frozen yogurt…

I decided, I was willing to sacrifice the red onion in order to have a sweet treat for these hot wonderful blistering awesome summer days.  Yes I am still in love with the heat!  Bring it on!  I even ran 5 miles this morning at around 9 and I was as happy as could be!  Sweating and melting but HAPPY! 🙂

ummmmm so yeah...not a bad decision if you ask me!

ummmmm so yeah…not a bad decision if you ask me!

So the salsa.  Let’s get to that.

Ingredients:

3 ripe Nectarines cut in half and pitted (I had 1 white flesh nectarine and 2 regular nectarines)

2 tablespoons melted butter

1/2 cup fresh basil roughly chopped (plus more for serving if you fancy)

Zest of 1 lime

Juice of 1/2 lime

Pinch of salt

1 tablespoon agave syrup

3 tablespoons white rum (optional…if that’s how you fly!)

How to:

Start your grill (evidently…it’s a grilled salsa!) brush your nectarines with your melted butter.  Place on your grill skin side up.  Grill for about 2-3 minutes.  Flip your nectarines and cook for another 2 minutes (not too long, skin tends to burn).  Remove and let cool.

it's all coming together

it’s all coming together

looks at those little jewels glissening!

looks at those little jewels glistening!

nice grill marks....pad on the back Iz.

nice grill marks….pat on the back Iz.

coolin' chillin' relaxin'

coolin’ chillin’ relaxin’

Maybe make a drink and chit-chat while nectarines cool.

Chop your cooled nectarines into cubes (or what ever resembles a cube in your book!)  Add your basil, lime juice, lime zest, salt, agave syrup and rum.  Toss everything together.  Taste.  Adjust seasoning….you might need a touch more salt.  Put in your fridge to chill or serve immediately over frozen yogurt or ice cream…I say go with vanilla so you can really taste the salsa, but it’s your dessert, sky’s the limit!  I opted for frozen yogurt….oh and I did put it on my burger!  DELISH!  YUMMILICIOUS!

so that was somewhere between mind blowing good and knock your socks off crazy good!

so that was somewhere between mind blowing good and knock your socks off crazy good! Perfect sweet & salty combo!

Note: if you decide you are not going for the rum, maybe you should go for tequila? or vodka? or maybe triple sec?  OK OK….maybe add a little more agave syrup and lime juice…whatever! 😉

sweet baby that is one delicious salsa!

sweet baby that is one delicious salsa!

On yet another note: I guess you could also use peaches, go for it….let me know if you do!

Printer Friendly: Grilled Nectarine Salsa

Peace and Salsa is NOT a dilemma,

Isabelle

P.S. if you wish to make your own frozen yogurt please go check out my Brown Butter Frozen Yogurt , it’s super easy and super yummy!  You may want to skip the step with the roasted cherries….or not!

Find my recipe linked here as well:

3 thoughts on “Grilled Nectarine Salsa

  1. Isabelle, your salsa is the solution to a dilemma I was having — couldn’t decide what to put on top of grilled salmon — wanted something “different” and this is IT!! Thanks for your creativity and versatility (looks & sounds fabulous on the burger, too — or as a dessert.) Yes, pats on the back, Iz.😉

  2. Made it yet AGAIN, lovely Isabelle, and “subbed” some sparkling Moscato for the rum (or tequila, or… or…) Quite honestly, this is my favorite dish this summer. xo!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

