Deep into the Smokies

So this trip was planned and organized and well thought out and well….I didn’t think that in 2013 I would have to go unknowingly, but without a fight, with NO INTERNET for 1 whole week….I was just looking forward to a nice little relaxing vacation with my family, my folks and my brother’s family.  Turns out you can live without internet and barely a phone signal.  I don’t know if both of our teenagers would agree but I thought it was actually kind of nice….once you made your peace with it.  Oh and no TV…welcome to the stone age people!

Here are a few pics for your enjoyment….go with it people…it’s fun!🙂

FYI a lot of these were taken with my Iphone (no we still don’t get along) because frankly I am always too lazy to go find my good camera….unless it’s to take pictures of food….then I will move a mountain to get to it!  Food is special!  Like me….I am special!  (don’t say out loud what you are thinking…I know!)

We arrived on Sunday and stopped at about 15 “scenic spots” to eventually realize all the views are good since you are in the MOUNTAINS!!!!!

So I actually had my whole phone sticking out the car window...Matt didn't like that...I can't understand why?!

I actually had my whole phone sticking out the car window…Matt didn’t like that…I can’t understand why?!

pretty!

pretty!

Smoky!

Smoky!

smokier....

smokier….

now where talking REAL smoke! :)

now we’re talking REAL smoke!🙂

our accommodations!

our accommodations!

kids REALLY enjoyed the hot tub!

kids REALLY enjoyed the hot tub!

see....I am special...I sent that pic to my sister-in-law...she was looking for glasses...I was helping.

see….I am special…I sent this to my sister-in-law…she was looking for glasses…I was helping

what kids do when there is no internet...LIVE OUTSIDE!

what kids do when there is no internet…LIVE OUTSIDE!

my favorite shot! Can you see the road waaaaaay back there!

my favorite shot! Can you see the road waaaaaay back there?!

my sweet husband and my crazy brother! Ready to try some moonshine!

my sweet husband and my crazy brother! Ready to try some moonshine!

yeah....that was pretty darn good stuff!

yeah….that was pretty darn good stuff!

Note: we bought the Lemon Drop Moonshine (second from the left).  I will talk about it some more in another post…with a cocktail recipe!!!!

well duh!

well duh!

Mr Man and I's thoughts exactly!

Mr Man and I’s thoughts exactly!

Note: this is what happens when you try moonshine on an empty stomach…everything is funny and you take pictures of it all!

On the way back from Gatlinburg we were lucky enough to see an Elk

On the way back from Gatlinburg we were lucky enough to see an Elk

we were also very lucky that Sunshine took about 100 pics of the elk!

we were also very lucky that Sunshine took about 100 pics of the elk!

Matt and Christian took the kids fishing while Dee and I went to Walmart to get more "stuff"...fun times!

Matt and Christian took the kids fishing while Dee and I went to Walmart….fun times!

Note: Dee and I went to Walmart about 20 miles away…managed to get somewhat lost, had to ask a nice police officer to direct us, and finally found our way so we could buy boat shoes for our White Water Rafting excursion the following day.

very pretty pond FILLED with trout!

very pretty pond/setting FILLED with trout!

look ma'! Lots of fish for supper!

look ma’! Lots of fish for supper!

where we went White Water Rafting! It was awesome!

where we went White Water Rafting! It was awesome!

I do not have any other pictures of our rafting experience.  You can’t have a phone or camera with you on the water….well let’s re-phrase that: Isabelle is not allowed to have a phone or camera with her on the water.  End of story.

Last shot on my phone as we were leaving. So pretty! Spectacular views!

Last shot on my phone as we were leaving. So pretty! Spectacular views!

5 thoughts on “Deep into the Smokies

  1. My aunt had a cabin in the mountains of north Georgia, part of the Smokies. My dad lived in it for a couple of years. We would go up about every 6 weeks or so to visit. The mountains are beautiful no matter what season it is. Glad y’all had fun!

  2. What fun, Isabelle, and, like you, it takes some adjustment to live w/o both an Internet connection and cell phone signal!! But, it’s good for the soul and spirit, and the family LOVES IT!! XO

  3. Sounds like you had a wonderful relaxing vacation. Did you raft the Pigeon River? Your picture looks like a place we went to where you start about 50 yards in North Carolina then raft into Tennessee. Great pictures.

  4. Isabelle, I’ve driven through the Smokies and marveled at the whitewater cascading through the valleys, but to actually be brave enough to raft on it… yes, you ARE special! Loved your photos… and your adventures… and your captions… love you!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

