Tuna with Tomatoes and Capers

Tuna with tomatoes and capers

Tuna with tomatoes and capers

I saw this cookbook at my library (again).  I was just sitting there reading while the girls picked out their weekly reading.  Honestly I must say that Matt and I are always amazed and so proud of how much the girls read.  It is so cool to know they get excited to not only go to the library but also they absolutely love going to the half price book store!  They think it’s the best place on earth!  ANYWAY back to this cookbook I was reading.  I was just flipping through the pages and not really absorbing any of it until I cam across the picture for this Tuna with Tomatoes and Capers.  OH MY GOODNESS!  I started to drool!  I knew this was going to be something both Matt and I would completely love.  I wasn’t wrong!

The thing is that we have been loving these tuna steaks we buy from Trader Joe’s.  They are very good and the price is right.  They come frozen which isn’t a big deal other than when we try to grill them they turn out somewhat dry.  I have been on the lookout for new recipes to use the tuna steaks and I figure this would be the right one.  I wasn’t wrong!

Of course I had to change a few things and adapt the recipe to our liking and what I can find in our local stores.  Sadly we don’t live in the middle of Italy or New York City (not that I would ever want to live in NYC…sorry don’t send hate mail!) which means that I don’t always have access to “exotic or fancy” ingredients.  I made this as easy as can be in the hopes it would please everyone and be easy to duplicate.  I wasn’t wrong!

this sauce is absolutely incredible!

this sauce is absolutely incredible!

Ingredients:

4 tuna steaks, about 8-ounces each

6 garlic cloves crushed and roughly chopped

1 heaping tablespoon fresh rosemary, chopped

1 heaping tablespoon fresh oregano, chopped

4 cups cherry tomatoes, cut in half

1 jar of your favorite tomato sauce about 26-ounce (depending on the brand, I like Trader Joe’s Roasted Garlic Marinara)

1/2 cup capers, drained

Salt and Pepper to taste

Extra-wide egg noodles for serving (or really any type of pasta you like)

How to:

In a very large sautee pan heat about 3 tablespoons olive oil.  Add your garlic and cook on medium low heat for 2-3 minutes.  Add your fresh herbs and cherry tomatoes.  Cook on medium heat for about 5 minutes.  (I could eat this stuff up all by itself….that would totally be a great recipe!)  Add your tomato sauce and gently bring to a simmer.  Cook for another 5-10 minutes until reduced slightly.  Add your capers and cook for another 5 minutes.  Taste and adjust your seasoning, capers tend to be salty so use a light touch.  Place your tuna steaks into the sauce and cook for about 5 minutes on each side.  Turn off the heat and let rest for 10 minutes.  Serve tuna over past with lots of sauce.

sweating garlic is a beautiful thing!

sweating garlic is a beautiful thing!

simply divine!

simply divine!

a great sauce, I am certain you could add any protein and it would be amazing!

a great sauce, I am certain you could add any protein and it would be amazing!

simmering tuna steaks

simmering tuna steaks

Absolutely divine!  The sauce is so perfect for this fish and the steaks remain moist and loaded with flavors.  The capers add just enough saltiness and acidity to the entire dish, so scrumptous!

delightful healthy and quick...can't beat it!

delightful healthy and quick…can’t beat it!

Printer Friendly: Tuna with Tomatoes and Capers

Peace and Exotic,

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Tuna with Tomatoes and Capers

  1. Is it possible to have a “food twin?” Someone who cooks & thinks alike & comes up with flavor combos that you’d make in your own kitchen? I don’t think you’re wrong, Isabelle. I think you’re my sister!

  2. What a beautiful dish! I’m not fish eater, but my husband adores it, and I am always on the look out for new recipes to try for him. Thanks. He will love this!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

