The Best Caesar Salad….EVER!

Best Ceasar Salad EVER!

Best Caesar Salad EVER!

Bold Statement.  Maybe.  I don’t make statements like this easily, trust me.  But when my friend Angie came over with her peeps a while ago she brought a salad to go along with the lasagna I was making.  Can I tell you I almost fell off my chair when I took a bite of her salad.  It was perfect.  Simply perfect.  I waited for the appropriate time to ask for the recipe.  I didn’t want her to think I was some crazy foodie blogger that only cares about food….oh wait…I am that.  Regardless, she gave me the recipe and the go-ahead to blog about it.  I think most of my friends know by now that if I ask for a recipe and you actually give it to me then it’s a sure bet it’s going to show up here!  I do that simply because I care so much about you guys I want to have the best of the best….and this recipe is the best of the best Caesar salad….in my humble opinion!

a little grilled chicken to top this amazing salad

a little grilled chicken to top this amazing salad

Ingredients:

1 garlic clove-peeled and minced

1/2 tablespoon red wine vinegar

1 egg yolk

1/2 cup olive oil

splash Worcestershire sauce

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

1/2 Lemon

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Romaine Lettuce-rinsed and dried (about 1 1/2 to 2 Romaine hearts)

How to:

Using your hands, tear off chunks of lettuce from the Romaine hearts and break apart (do not use a knife to cut).  Place in bowl.  Set aside.

Hearts of Romaine...crisp and fresh

Hearts of Romaine…crisp and fresh

For Dressing:

Place your garlic into a medium bowl and add your red wine vinegar.  Smash and stir.   Add oil, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, and egg yoke.  (You have to coddle the egg -which means place it in boiling water for 45 sec., then crack open and just use yolk).  Then add the juice from 1/2 of lemon.  Stir really well and pour onto lettuce.  Toss until coated.  Add Parmesan cheese and croutons to your liking.  Toss to combine.  Serve and wait for the applause.

gorgeous golden salad dressing, the key to success!

gorgeous golden salad dressing, the key to success!

I can't tell you how simply amazing this salad taste...just look how lovely it grabs you attention!

I can’t tell you how simply amazing this salad tastes…just look how lovely it is!

Note:  This salad is perfectly delicious on it’s own, as a side or topped with your favorite protein. I selected grilled chicken breast for our little supper.  Fantastic!

ready to dig in!

ready to dig in!

Another note: I had never coddled an egg until I made this salad.  Don’t be afraid to try it, it is quite easy and you will have peace of mind that you are not eating a “raw” egg.  I would also advise you to use organic farm eggs whenever possible.  Store bought “white” eggs are old…in some cases months old…that is just not good for you.

Printer Friendly: Best Caesar Salad

Peace and Coddle,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “The Best Caesar Salad….EVER!

  1. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

