Peanut Butter and Chocolate Shortbread Cookies

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Shortbread Cookies

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Shortbread Cookies

My youngest daughter just walked by me a minute ago and said: “Mom, I do love these cookies”  Want to know why she said that…well other than the obvious that she actually likes them….she said that because last night after a very long day, part of which was me making these cookies, my husband grabbed one of said cookies and made choking sounds as if he was eating sand paper.  I think he was being a tad dramatic.  He said something along the lines of  “boy, you sure need some milk with those cookies” …blah blah blah…

THEY ARE TEA COOKIES!  Therefore they are not only rich but dense and marvelously flavorful.  That’s my story and I am sticking to it!  For heaven’s sake!  Has anyone in this house ever had tea with the Queen?  Good Lord!  You don’t serve just any ol’ cookie when serving tea!  You serve nice delicious shortbread cookies!  And drown your sorrows with tea…or wash your mouth with a big ol’ glass of milk!

I love these cookies.  They are true Shortbread Cookies.  If you are looking for a crispy, light as a feather or chewy cookie, well this won’t be the recipe for you.  Sorry buckaroos but you may want to check out my other scrumptious cookie recipes!  But believe me when I tell you how yummy these lovely little shortbread cookies are!  Let’s not forget that peanut butter and chocolate is THE perfect combination for just about anything!

different shape, same delicious shortbread cookies

different shape, same delicious shortbread cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup unsalted butter at room temperature (2 sticks)

1 cup peanut butter (I use creamy)

1 1/2 teaspoon almond extract

2/3 cup confectioner sugar

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2  teaspoon salt

1 3/4 semi-sweet chocolate chips

How to:

In a medium bowl combine your flour and your salt.  Set aside.

In your mixer cream your butter and peanut butter.  Add your almond extract and powdered sugar.  Add your flour mixture.  Combine well but do not over-mix.  Add your chocolate chips.  Divide your dough in half.  This is where I am trying to confuse you….I have two options to choose from.

the dough: nice, thick and creamy

the dough: nice, thick and creamy

A.  Make rolls in clear plastic wrap.

OR

B. Make a round/square disk (about 1/2 inch thick) in clear plastic wrap.

dough and plastic wrap...sometime it's quite a battle!

dough and plastic wrap…at times it’s quite a battle!

option A and option B :)

option A and option B 🙂

Put your dough in the refrigerator for about 2 hours.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Line your baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone mats.  Set aside.

If you opted for the roll technique you can simply sliced your dough, approximately 1/2 inch thick.

nice slices ready to go into the oven

nice slices ready to go into the oven

OR

If you opted for the round/square disk, simply use a cookie cutter or knife and cut the dough into the desired shape.

I just realized that all my cookie cutters are Christmas themed...so I simply made little squares

I realized that all my cookie cutters are Christmas themed…so I simply made little squares

Place your cookies onto your prepared cookie sheet and bake in your preheated oven for 15-16 minutes.  The cookies will remain pale in color.  Cool completely.

hard telling but these are baked and ready to chill!

hard telling but these are baked and ready to chill!

ooooh la la...lovely cookies!

ooooh la la…lovely cookies!

Printer Friendly: Peanut Butter and Chocolate Shortbread Cookies

A whole lot of cookies make me a happy girl!

A whole lot of cookies make me a happy girl!

Peace and Crumbles,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Chocolate Shortbread Cookies

  1. Isabelle, my son took me to a cheese shop recently that also featured other gourmet goodies. There I stood in the middle of cheese heaven, drooling over a tin of shortbread cookies! Your PB & chocolate tea-time treat looks divine.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

