Nacho Burgers

Nacho Burgers!

Nacho Burgers!

I quit the gym.  SAY WHAT?  Relax…I am still working out everyday.  I know you were totally worried that I had become a couch potato.  Fear not I am still a crazy workout/runner/exercise nut!  It’s just that my sweet husband set us up with a totally cool home gym!  He is awesome like that.  Not only do we have a treadmill, an elliptical and a new rowing machine but we also have weight lifting equipment to satisfy our every needs!  How cool is that?!  Now I can even be more of a homebody and recluse as ever!  With the chicken coop and our overflowing garden we may as well start a cult or compound…I am only half kidding…

OK you might be wondering where is this going and how this post is about Nacho Burgers?  Well, the other day in order to make room for the new rowing machine I had to clean out a cabinet.  We needed to remove it from the basement cardio area (I am now naming sections of our home for future references in the cult book…!)  I came across an oldish Food and Wine Magazine that I had obviously intended to read while on the elliptical.  Alas, it was  just collecting dust since last January 2012!

Then I paid close attention to the cover!  OH MY GOODNESS… Bobby Flay’s Nacho Burgers.  Absolutely gorgeous and mouth-watering.  Why didn’t I notice it before?  Then Matt saw the cover!  That’s all he needed.  I had to make us these burgers or something close to it.  I think the key is the cheese sauce.  In fact I know it is.  Here’s our Father’s Day treat for my lovely husband.

Our Father's Day dinner, outside on a gorgeous day...and yes we always have hot sauce on our table...more like a jar size!

Our Father’s Day dinner, outside on a gorgeous day…and yes we always have hot sauce on our table…more like a jar size!

Inspired by: Booby Flay’s Nacho Burgers

Ingredients:

For the burgers:

1 1/2 lbs. ground beef chuck

2 tablespoons Montreal Steak seasoning

Salsa (your favorite or Herdez Salsa that I use in my Southwest Chicken Salad)

4 hamburger buns, split and toasted

Sliced pickled jalapenos (for topping)

Corn tortillas chips (for topping)

For the Cheese Sauce:

1 tablespoon butter

1 tablespoon flour

1 1/2 cup milk

1/2 lb shredded Monterey Jack cheese, shredded, about 2 cups (you could also spice it up and use Pepperjack cheese)

Salt and Pepper to taste

How to:

I like to keep my burger meat simple.  I learned that when grilling you truly must leave them alone and not flip them over and over.  I simply mix in my Montreal Steak Seasoning (do not overmix) and form 4 nice patties.  I leave a little dimple at the top so they have room to plump up!

Start your grill and get the desired doneness.  We like our burgers medium rare.  That’s how we “burger”!  🙂

can you see the little dimple or dip at the top...it's mad science!

can you see the little dimple or dip at the top…it’s mad science!

smelling fantastic! DO NOT MESS WITH THE BURGERS! ONE TURN ONLY!

smelling fantastic! DO NOT MESS WITH THE BURGERS! ONE FLIP ONLY!

For the cheese sauce:  In a medium saucepan melt your butter.  Stir in your flour and cook for about 30 seconds (we need to cook the flour taste out).  Gently whisk in your milk and cook until smooth and thickened, about 5-10 minutes.  Add your cheese and stir until melted.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Keep warm until ready to serve.

cheese sauce or liquid gold cheesiness!

cheese sauce or liquid gold cheesiness!

For the assembly and it’s not rocket science…!  EASY STUFF FOLKS!  Place your burgers on your buns, top with your cheese sauce, a couple of tablespoons (or more) of your salsa, pickled jalapenos and crushed chips.  Finish with your top buns and serve.

oh my sweet heaven! SO DELICIOUS!

oh my sweet heaven! SO DELICIOUS!

NOTE: please be a nice person and offer your guests a lot of napkins….maybe a bib…these bad boys are quite messy but oh so delicious, marvelous, scrumptious, heavenly!  It’s a Summer MUST!

oh and this happened...I bet you understand how delicious the sauce is!

oh and this happened…I bet you understand how delicious the sauce is!

Printer Friendly: Nacho Burgers

Peace and Burgers,

Isabelle

2 thoughts on “Nacho Burgers

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

