Pink Raspberry Margaritas

Pink Raspberry Margarita

Pink Raspberry Margarita

I found a recipe for Pink Margaritas a couple years back on Pinterest.  I have to be honest, it was barely OK.  It used Pink Grapefruit juice which sounded pretty good on paper/blog but the reality was not what I was looking for.  I need more…more flavor, maybe more texture, more color….just all around MORE….great blogging word Isabelle…MORE…that’s explains a lot!  Oh dear!

I went back and looked for the Pink Grapefruit Margarita and oh my goodness the recipe is actually Ina Garten’s from “How easy is that?”.  I am so sorry Ina…I mean I love her and her recipes but this one is….well it’s….boring…there I said it!  The taste is boring and I want MORE than a boring taste when I am having a cocktail.

Note: I usually try to make my recipes for cocktails for one selfish person (usually moi) and my food recipes for my little gang of 4.  To keep it interesting and to remind you I like to color on the outside of the lines this recipe is for two lovely love birds…Mr Man and I!  Multiply or divide as you see fit!  Easy Peasy!

oh my....look at that gorgeous deep pink color...amazing!

oh my….look at that gorgeous deep pink color…amazing!

Ingredients:

For the simple syrup:

1/2 cup frozen or fresh raspberries

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup sugar

note: this will make about 1 cup simple syrup which is enough for 4 drinks….you never know where the night might take you…it’s good to have extras!

For the Margaritas:

3 ounces tequila (what ever brand you prefer, we tend to like that Jose Cuervo guy but it’s your drink – go wild!)

2 ounces Triple Sec (or you could be rich and famous and go with Grand Marnier!)

Juice of 1 lime

1/2 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

1/2 cup raspberry simple syrup

Zest 1 lime

2 tablespoons Kosher or Sea Salt

1 lime quartered (for garnish)

How to:

For your simple syrup:

In a small saucepan combine your raspberries, water and sugar.  Bring to a gentle boil and simmer until sugar is dissolved.  Remove from heat, puree with immersion blender and let cool.

raspberry simple syrup...such a simple perfect thing!

raspberry simple syrup…such a simple perfect thing!

syrup chillin'

syrup chillin’

Note: if you do not like seeds you could put your mixture through a fine sieve.  I happen to like the texture so I let it be.

For your margaritas: 

Prepare your two margarita glasses by combining your 1/2 your lime zest with your salt in a shallow plate.  Wet the rim of your glasses with a little water and gently coat the rim with your zest & salt mixture.  Sprinkle the remaining 1/2 lime zest between your two glasses, 1/4 cup raspberries in each and about 1/2 cup of ice per glass.  Set aside.

easy salt rim

easy salt rim

pretty

pretty

gorgeous

gorgeous

In a cocktail shaker combine your tequila, triple sec, lime juice, 1/2 cup raspberry simple syrup and 1/2 cup ice.  Put some power into this and shake it like you mean it!  Strain into your prepared glass.  Add a piece of lime for presentation or like me squeeze more lime into your glass so you can pucker your lips and smile a little while you take your first sip!

things are happening!

things are happening!

ABSOLUTELY ADDICTIVE!  So delicious, fresh and lots of MORE!  Flavor, texture, color and all around fabulousness!

delicious, lovely color and simply all around marvelous!

delicious, lovely color and simply all around marvelous!

Enjoy!  Summer is here!

Printer Friendly: Pink Raspberry Margaritas

Peace and Pucker,

Isabelle

only last close look at this perfect little gem!

one last look at this perfect little gem!

6 thoughts on “Pink Raspberry Margaritas

  1. Isabelle, you had me at the title. Then your writing (humorous and honest as always) made me want to hug you. Then your photos (especially the “gorgeous” one — aptly captioned) made me crave one of your Pink Raspberry Margaritas right NOW — never mind what day it is. 🙂

  2. I can hardly wait to try this drink!!! I love raspberries and I love margaritas!!! So in my mind “what a combination”. The idea of the lime zest mixed in with the salt gives this drink just a little tang. This drink is perfect or as you said Isabelle – MORE. Thank you.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

