Orzo Tuna Salad

Orzo Tuna Salad

Orzo Tuna Salad

For some weird reason kids in our family love Orzo pasta.  My daughters and both my nephews can’t seem to get enough of it.  I mean it’s just another type of pasta really.  But for some strange reason, they all dig in like crazy wild animals if we put a bowl of hot orzo drenched in butter and fresh parmesan cheese.

Bottom line, I always have plenty of orzo pasta on hand.  Trying to get away from butter and cheese, I thought it would be lovely to make a nice and healthy tuna salad with our orzo.  It is a summery, fresh and healthy lunch for Mr Man and I working from home on a lovely June day.

Ingredients:

For the salad:

1 pound Orzo pasta cooked according to package’s directions, cooled

1 15-ounce can artichoke hearts roughly chopped (I like large chunks I can see and taste)

2 5-ounce cans tuna in water, drained and flaked

1 12-ounce can tuna in oil, drained and flaked

1 bell pepper, diced (or 6 mini sweet peppers, diced see pics below)

2 tablespoons capers

5 green onions, chopped

For the dressing:

Zest of 1 lemon

Juice of 1 lemon

1/4 cup olive oil

3 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

Spinach, for serving

Arugula, for serving

Olive Oil, for serving

How to:

In a large (and I mean pretty large) bowl combine all salad ingredients.  Toss to combine.  Set aside.

no dressing...feeling kind of naked...(yikes!)

no dressing…feeling kind of naked…(yikes!)

In a small bowl combine your lemon zest, juice, olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper.  Using a whisk mix everything well.  Taste and adjust seasoning if needed.  Pour dressing over your salad.  Gently toss to combine.

adding dressing....feeling better already

adding dressing….feeling better already

action shot...OK not a great one but I was combining it all!

action shot…OK not a great one but I was combining it all!

Serve over a bed of spinach (for Mr Man) or arugula (for moi), add some fresh ground pepper and a drizzle of olive oil.

Mr Man's lovely plate

Mr Man’s lovely plate

Inspired by Ina Garten: Couscous Tuna Salad

On a funny (to me) note:  Have you ever watched Ina Garten on the Food Network?  Or read any of her recipes?  If so you may have noticed that she always says: “use a good/quality olive oil or pasta or whatever…”  I always want to scream at the T.V. and says: “well, actually Ina I was going to use sub-par ingredients for this recipe, or just poor quality stuff all around”…. what the heck?  I mean I love Ina, she is a great cook/chef but the whole thing about telling us to use quality ingredients is (and you might have guessed this) another pet peeve of mine!

my little serving of deliciousness!

my little serving of deliciousness!

Printer Friendly:  Orzo Tuna Salad

Peace and Sub-par?  NEVER!

Isabelle

FYI:

Mini Sweet Peppers, girls love to snack on these little gems

Mini Sweet Peppers, girls love to snack on these little gems

3 thoughts on “Orzo Tuna Salad

  1. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

