Black Bean Soup

Black Bean Soup

Black Bean Soup

So it’s May…It’s getting nice and hot outside…just the way I love it!  Mr Man texted me a recipe he found for his favorite soup: Panera Bread’s Black Bean Soup.  Ummmm OK?  I am up for soup in May.

Before I continue…I have to point out TWO important things.

First off, I am anti-Panera Bread.  Why?  I think in some ways just to irk my mother.  She loves that restaurant.  Anytime you would ask her where we should go for lunch she would say Panera Bread.  So my dad and I started to refuse to go there.  Now she will say: “let’s go for lunch but I know I am not allowed to ask for Panera Bread so let’s find a place that you guys prefer”.  She even uses a bit of a sarcastic tone.  Not cool Mom!  I just find the restaurant and food over-rated…there I said it.  Panera Bread is over-rated!

Second, when Matt went to Panera Bread with a client of his, they went to Panera Bread (obviously! Hence this story!).  He had the Black Bean Soup.  Seriously, it was as if  he had found Atlantis.  He talked and talked and talked some more about that darn soup.  I swear, I thought he would never stop.  He did and then he found the recipe in the local newspaper….so then making THAT soup for supper became important and vital to our well-being.

I aim to please…and to irk my Mom….and to make my husband stop talking about a soup.

It is quite delicious and surprisingly healthy!

It is quite delicious and surprisingly healthy!

Ingredients:

1 onion finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 celery ribs, chopped

1/4 large red bell pepper, finely chopped

2 small chicken or vegetable bouillon cubes

1 1/2  cups boiling water

2 15-ounce cans black beans undrained

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cumin

Juice of 1/2 lemon

1 1/2 teaspoons corn starch

How to:

In a large dutch oven or stock pot add your onion, garlic, celery, red bell pepper bouillon cubes and boiling water.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer for about 10 minutes.  Add half a can of black beans, salt and cumin, cook for another 5 minutes.

Puree soup in a blender or immersion blender.  Add the rest of the beans to the soup.  Combine the cornstarch with 1 1/2 tablespoons of water.  Add the lemon juice and the cornstarch to the soup, bring to a simmer and cook until thickened.

looking good so far!

looking good so far!

looking good and smelling fantastic!

looking good and smelling fantastic!

Serve with finely diced red pepper.  You could even add a dollop of sour cream or maybe some diced up jalapenos…trust me I could go on!  Which I won’t because that would be oh so not like me….sarcasm is much like me!

Enjoy, this is a super easy and wallet friendly soup.  I bet you could make the whole thing for what they sell a bowl at Panera Bread.  Crazy isn’t it!

delicious any time of the year!

delicious any time of the year!

Printer Friendly: Black Bean Soup

Peace and Irk,

Isabelle

Note: I actually made this soup at 6:45am.  It does make your house smell fantastically delicious!  Great way to start the day!

Second Note:  Per Mr. Man…add twice as much cumin as what this call for!

Final Note: I have no way of knowing if this is the true Panera Bread recipe but that’s what the newspaper said!

5 thoughts on “Black Bean Soup

  1. Isabelle, I LOVE black beans! (“Chain” restaurants, not so much…) While the concept is noble, sometimes “mass produced food” is less than desirable. Your Black Bean Soup is singular and spectacular, like you. 🙂 xo

  2. Ok… here’s my deal with Panera!! My daughter loves that place too and would rather go there, but having not been there very often and not familiar with their menu.. I hate that pressure of walking up and having to stare at the menu boards above my head that I can barely see and try to order to the immediate “Can I help you?” Then there are little tricks of asking for things with your meal, but being unfamiliar I have no idea. AND they don’t ask me either!! Everytime we sit, my daughter is like why didnt you get this or why didn’t you ask for that? AND ITS BECAUSE I DONT KNOW!!! So while we are talkin’ restaurants…. I hate those places that ask for your order as soon as you walk up and the menu board is up high and i can hardly read it! So sorry, McAllisters Deli, City Barbecue, Panera… I probably won’t be dining with you very often!!!You started it Isabelle, but i do feel better now! LOL

  3. I agree with you on Panera. Blackbean soup is something of a staple down here in Tampa because of the Cuban community. There are as many recipes for Frijoles Negra as there are cooks making it, and they are all good!

  4. Pingback: Soups Round Up | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

