New Technology, Old Isabelle & Same Salsa

Seriously…could I possibly try to fit more into one title than this one?  It doesn’t even make sense to me.  Alas, that’s just the way I tend to be these days.  Let me break it down for you…

New Technology:

Polar Running Watch

Polar Running Watch

My new Polar watch.  Courtesy of my lovely husband.  I LOVE IT.  It took some getting use to but I think I am getting the hang of it.  I was so afraid to “start” using it that it sat on my dresser for about a week before I finally took the courage to turn it on and start pressing buttons.  I know I am kind of crazy about stuff like that.  I worry so much I might hit the wrong button/key that I stay away for as long as I can…sometimes even longer.  It is actually kind of user-friendly.  Press start and follow the prompts.  I am still having difficulties seeing exactly what I want to see while I run but I think I should be good to go soon.

Addictive?  Quite possibly.  Here’s the thing; while you run you can see your pace, your heart rate, your mileage…etc…for someone with an obsessive personality say like….ME… this can be brutal.  I want to reach certain goals, certain pace, a crazy number of calories burned, keep my heart rate at a premium level…and on and on….needless to say I about had a heart attack and about fell 3 times on my first run with this gadget because I kept on looking at it then entire run.  NOT GOOD for an accident prone girl!

my Monday run, not bad

my Monday run, not bad

timing and calorie count

timing and calorie count

Old Isabelle:

Speaking of being accident prone….

I accidentally shaved one of my eye brows.  I can’t even make that *^&# up.  Seriously.  Who in their right 43-year-old mind accidentally shaves an eye brow.  Me…that’s who.

Let me set the scene; my husband was in our bathroom taking care of looking his best (which he greatly achieves!).  He was using a small electric clipper/shaver to trim his eye brows.  I said: “oh, I have never used that to trim my eye brows, let me try it”  (this is where my husband probably thinks he should have stopped me….but he didn’t).  I grabbed the clipper and started on my right brow.  I did OK.  Then I moved on to the left.  One try…two tries…then for some reason turned it upside down and continued…and wham bam thank you ma’am shaved my eye brow off!  The end!  I panicked…Matt felt bad but knew this was par for the course with his wife and went to bed!

Think you are having a bad day?  Think again…you probably have two perfectly normal eye brows.  I don’t.  One…just one eye brow and it’s not even the good ol’ uni-brow  (which by the way I also had back in the 80’s)!

only way so far I found to hide "the" brow...sunglasses!

only way so far I found to hide “the” brow…sunglasses!

Same Salsa:

The other night I made some grilled pork chops and topped them with my “old” standard Mango Salsa .  So perfectly delicious over grilled chicken or grilled pork.  Great with tortilla chips by the pool.  Lovely fresh and gorgeous Mango Salsa.

So pretty!

So pretty!

Mango Salsa:

2 mango diced

1/2 red onion finely diced

3 tablespoons of olive oil

2 tablespoons of lime juice

1 big handful of cilantro roughly chopped

Salt and Pepper (you need at least a good 1/4 teaspoon of salt)

1 jalapeno (or less, to taste)

Mix all ingredients together and place in your refrigerator while you get the pork or chicken going.  This can be made ahead, sometimes I make it in the morning when I put the pork in the marinade.

yummy Mango Salsa

Yummy Mango Salsa

This is the picture I posted on Instagram, not perfect but somehow it seems the people enjoyed the view 😉

Printer Friendly: Mango Salsa

Note: I did have more technology hit me with my new Iphone.  Alas we have yet to see eye to eye.  I know, I have issues with change but honestly I think my phone hates me…but that’s a story for another day.

Peace and One Brow,

Isabelle

Speaking of Same…Katie made my Reese’s Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting  for our soccer team: HUGE HIT…some kids had 3 or 4 cupcakes!

best cupcakes I have ever had! :)

best cupcakes I have ever had! 🙂

Printer Friendly:  Reese’s Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

6 thoughts on “New Technology, Old Isabelle & Same Salsa

  1. Isabelle, I love you for making me laugh uproariously. Sorry to hear about your eyebrow mishap, but you look gorgeous and always will, no matter how many (or few) eyebrows you have. xo Have fun with your new technology!

  2. hahahahahaha. My condolences for the former eyebrow. Maybe shave the other one and pencil both in so they grow back evenly?

  3. RIP to your eyebrow! You are too funny. I know all about being fixated on the watch while you run. My ankle is still sore from the hole I stepped in a month ago while checking out my pace so be careful. Those cupcakes look like they are to die for!

  4. Polar: J’en ai une pareil…c’est une petite merveille.
    Enjoy Isabelle , Bon entraînement!
    Marie-Claude

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

