Amazing Carrot Cake

Amazing Carrot Cake (hidden as a birthday cake!)

Amazing Carrot Cake (masquerading as a birthday cake!)

A few weeks behind on posting.  What can I say?  Life has a way of knocking you on your behind, slapping you in the face and reminding you of what matters most.

In my case: my husband & my girls; our little family.  The end.

The family.  We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together.  ~Erma Bombeck

I decided to make this carrot cake for my husband’s birthday….even though he told me not to.  He said: “if we want this carrot cake we really should just ask Chris to make it.”  Bottom line my friend Chris made this cake for us once when they came over to play cards and hang out.  Chris is an excellent baker.  Matt fell madly in love with the cake.  Important fact: my husband thinks I might not do the cake justice.  I should probably agree with him but it’s his birthday and I wanted to make something special for him.

In this house I am not the ultimate baker.  Baking takes time and patience,  two things I am usually short on.  But it was my husband’s BIRTHDAY…I mean come on, I have to bake him a cake!  He usually requests his favorite which is my strawberry cake but this year the carrot cake was in the number #1 position!  It happens!  I do have to agree this carrot cake is simply delicious, moist and totally flavorful!

Chris found this recipe in one of her Taste of Home Magazines.  I went on their website to link up the original but I will be darn; they have a plethora of carrot cake recipes but NOT the one Chris gave me….sorry…I tried!

The BEST carrot cake I have ever eaten in my life!

The BEST carrot cake I have ever eaten in my life!

Ingredients:

For the cake:

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons cinnamon

3 cup shredded carrots (I think mine was closer to 3 1/2 cups)

1 20-ounce can crushed pineapple well-drained

2 cup sugar

1 cup canola oil

4 eggs

1 cup toasted walnuts

For the frosting:

2 package cream cheese

1/2 cup butter

2 teaspoons vanilla

7 1/2 cups confectioner sugar

How to (cake):

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease 2 8-inch or 9-inch round baking pans.  Set aside.

In a large bowl combine your flour, baking soda and cinnamon.  Set aside.

In your mixer combine your shredded carrots, drained pineapple, sugar, oil, and eggs.  Mix well.  Add your dry ingredients slowly.  Fold in your walnuts.

Pour into your prepared pans and bake in your preheated oven for about 40 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Let cool completely.  Put on your serving plate.  Time to ice your cake and make it look pretty.  (something I usually fail miserably at!)

Lovely batter

Lovely start

just so you know my house smells like heaven!

just so you know my house smells like heaven!

take a closer look

take a closer look

How to (frosting):

Beat your cream cheese, butter and vanilla until blended.  Gradually add your confectioner sugar until smooth.  Spread generously between the 2 layers and all over this delicious cake.
Note: if you decide to make a sheet cake instead of a round layered cake you should make 1/2 the frosting.

Let's say I did a fair job on the decorating... :)

Let’s say I did a fair job on the decorating… 🙂

Printer Friendly: Amazing Carrot Cake

so moist and flavorful, simply amazing!

so moist and flavorful, simply amazing!

Peace and I love Birthdays especially my husband’s 🙂

Isabelle

Note: I am still on break from Facebook so if you have a chance to share on your wall or page I would greatly appreciate it…. THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT.

8 thoughts on “Amazing Carrot Cake

  1. Nothing makes me happier than a fat slice of carrot cake. (except maybe a fatter slice of zucchini bread) 🙂

  2. I loooove carrot cake!!! My mother-in-law makes it for me every year on my birthday. Hers has raisins instead of nuts. I wish I can just reach your pic and just dive in one fat slice right now! And happy birthday to your hubbie!!! xxx

    • WooHoo…I know this recipe!! I made it a few years ago when I was digging through my plethora of Taste Of Homes (I subscribed for years) looking for Pumpkin Pecan Pie…Since I’m the only fan of Carrot Cake I need a legitimate excuse to make it, cause you know I’ll consume the whole thing!

  3. “…make 1/2 the frosting.” ARE YOU KIDDING? Those words should never be spoken. Carrot cake is my favorite! It’s the only cream cheese-y thing I like to eat 🙂 My mouth started watering as soon as I read the title. Well done! Happy Birthday!
    (my birthday is in July, wink 😉

  4. Isabelle, sorry for my late reply (trip lag, and all…) — I couldn’t be happier that you’re doing what you love for the people you love! True story: I bought a carrot cake from a grocery store bakery after reading your post! (I was away from my kitchen and you made me crave it BIG TIME.) Can’t wait to try your Amazing Carrot Cake at home!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

