Braised Rhubard Over Yogurt Vanilla Bean Cake

Braised Rhubarb over Yogurt Vanilla Bean Cake

Braised Rhubarb over Yogurt Vanilla Bean Cake

The title alone makes me all giddy and happy!  Is that weird?  Honestly I thought about this cake and came up with the name before I even started formulating a recipe.  That’s the kind of crazy stuff that happens in my head….ALL THE TIME!  I was at the gym (no joke!) and I was hungry (still no joke!) when I started daydreaming about rhubarb (doesn’t everybody?) and then vanilla beans…it escalated quickly from there.  So in good Isabelle fashion I sent myself a text with the name: Braised Rhubarb over Yogurt Vanilla Bean Cake (doesn’t everybody self text?)  When I finally got home, I didn’t hit the ground running because as you know life gets in the way of food creation at times…this week is madness overload.  So I decided to do something I am not built for: use my patience and plan when I should make my cake topped with delicious braised rhubarb.  It was worth the wait.

Cake inspired by Yogurt Cake in Joy of Cooking (AKA The Bible!)

this is the ticket to yummy cake and tart rhubarb!

this is the ticket to yummy cake and sweet/tart rhubarb!

Yogurt Vanilla Bean Cake:

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups sifted cake flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

5 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 vanilla bean, seeds scraped

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup non-fat greek yogurt

Zest 1/2 lemon

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease and flour or spray a Bundt cake pan.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl combine your flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In your mixer cream your butter and sugars until light and fluffy.  Add your eggs (one at a time), your 1/2 lemon zest, your vanilla seeds and vanilla.  Add your yogurt and mix well, scraping the bowl as needed.  Finally add your flour mixture and mix until just combined.   Pour into your prepared pan and bake in your preheated oven for 30-35 minutes until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Let cool and invert into a serving plate.  Serve topped with braised rhubarb (recipe below)

OK we all know I eat raw batter (RELAX...I live dangerously) THIS is sinful....simply sinful

OK we all know I eat raw batter (RELAX…I like live dangerously) THIS is sinful….simply sinful

take a closer look...do you seed the seeds...I mean...seriously?  OH MY

take a closer look…do you seed the seeds?…I mean…seriously? OH MY!!!!

perfectly golden

perfectly golden

this cake tastes and looks decadent but it's low-fat!!!!!

this cake tastes and looks decadent but it’s lower-fat!!!!!

Braised Rhubarb

Ingredients:

1 to 1.5 lb fresh rhubarb cut into 2 to 3-inch pieces

Juice and zest 1 orange

Juice 1 lemon

Zest 1/2 lemon (I didn’t see the reason not to do double duty on that one!  I shared with the cake!)

1/4 cup agave syrup

1 teaspoon Vanilla

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

How to:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with foil or silicone mat.  Set aside.

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.  Toss to cover every bit of rhubarb.  Put in your prepared pan and bake in your preheated oven for 17-20 minutes or until rhubarb is soft and fragrant.  Serve over your vanilla yogurt cake or ice cream or yogurt or your hand… 😉

you know me...anything braised or roasted gets me going! from start

you know me…anything braised or roasted gets me going! from start

to finish

to finish

do you hear the Spring Angels singing?

do you hear the Spring Angels singing?

Note: what do I love the most about this?  Simple: the cake tastes like a pound cake but it’s lower-fat.  Mind blowing.  I also love love love the perfect vanilla seed flecks running through the cake.  Magical.  Dreamy.  Heavenly.  Oh and the rhubarb…AMAZING…sweet, tart, happy, delicious, a touch of spice and a lot of love!

make this cake. please make it, put rhubarb on it. or don't. put anything or nothing but make it. please and thank you.

make this cake. please make it. put rhubarb on it. or don’t. put anything or nothing but make it. please and thank you.

Printer Friendly: Braised Rhubard Over Yogurt Vanilla Bean Cake

Peace out dudes,

Isabelle

p.s . if you need an “how to” about getting seeds from whole vanilla beans here is a little helpful video:  my recipe dot com

One thought on “Braised Rhubard Over Yogurt Vanilla Bean Cake

  1. The timeliness (is that a word?) of your recipes lately has been uncanny. Are you hiding out in my pantry? I had salmon thawing in my ‘fridge when you posted your salmon recipe. I bought Greek yogurt yesterday and now you post this!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

