Salmon with Brown Sugar and Mustard Glaze & Herb Rolls

Salmon with Brown Sugar and Mustard Glaze & Herb Rolls

Salmon with Brown Sugar and Mustard Glaze & Herb Rolls

My Father in Law gave us loads of Salmon when we went to Florida.  In fact, he and Matt went to his hunting camp hoping to catch more fish but to no avail…nothing worth keeping.  He also gave us lots of deer meat!  I cannot wait to find some delicious recipes for all this beautiful meat!

I decided to make this salmon first because I love Salmon.  Secondly I happen to have a great recipe in the Everyday Food Issue #81,  which was my next installment….how convenient?!  The recipe for the rolls is a slightly different version of the one in the Everyday Food.  Theirs only had salt and pepper.  I wanted more flavor, especially since I was serving them with Salmon which has a pretty bold flavor.  I needed something to stand up to the Salmon and say “game on” ….seriously something is wrong with me that I think food not only talks but that it would talk to other food….lord help me!

this is good people....really really good!

this is good people….really really good!

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

1 large shallot, minced

1/4 cup red-wine vinegar

1/4 cup whole-grain mustard

1/4 cup packed dark-brown sugar

Coarse salt and ground pepper

1 side salmon (about 3 pounds), skin removed, cut into 8 fillets

1 bunch watercress (about 3/4 pound), thick stems trimmed (or in my case Super Greens because I couldn’t find watercress)

1 lemon, cut into wedges, for serving

How to:

Heat broiler, with rack in top position.  In a small saucepan, heat oil over medium-high.  Add shallot and cook, stirring often until softened, 3 minutes.  Add vinegar and cook until slightly evaporated, 1 minute.  Add mustard and brown sugar; stir until warm and combined, 1 minute.  Season with salt and pepper and remove from heat.  (To store, refrigerate cooled glaze in an airtight container, up to 1 day.)

THE glaze my friends!

THE glaze my friends!

Place salmon fillets on a foil-lined rimmed baking sheet (or silicone mat) and season with salt and pepper.  Transfer 1/2 cup glaze to a small dish and brush on top of salmon.  Broil salmon until glaze is bubbling and fish is opaque throughout, 5 to 10 minutes, depending on thickness; brush remaining glaze over fillets.  Serve salmon along with watercress and lemon wedges.

so far so good, at least I know how to glaze fish!

so far so good, at least I know how to glaze fish!

Herb Rolls:

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

1 container store bought pizza (about 11-ounces)

2 tablespoons fresh rosemary roughly chopped

2 tablespoons fresh chives roughly chopped

2 tablespoons fresh basil roughly chopped

2 tablespoons fresh parsley finely chopped (HA….are you paying attention?  It can be roughly chopped too!)

Coarse salt and ground pepper

How to:

In a small bowl combine all your fresh herbs and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, with rack in lower third.  Place 2 tablespoons olive oil in an 8-inch square baking dish.  Divide pizza dough into 16 pieces.  Sprinkle some fresh herbs on each pieces and mix gently into the dough.  Form each piece into a tight ball and place in dish, turning to coat with oil.  Cover dish with plastic wrap; set aside in a warm, draft-free place until balls double in size, 40 to 45 minutes (or refrigerate overnight; bring to room temperature and let rise before baking).  Season each roll with salt and pepper and bake until golden brown, 35 minutes.  Brush rolls with 1 tablespoon oil and let cool slightly.  Serve warm.

I know....everything is not the same size....I am hopeless!

I know….everything is not the same size….I am hopeless!

good start? perhaps but I missed something along the way.

good start? perhaps but I missed something along the way.

oh my...such uneveness

oh my…such uneveness

Note:  my rolls didn’t rise quite the way they were supposed too.  I think I didn’t let them rest enough….they were really good and I love the fresh herbs addition.  Well….you can’t win them all.  Let’s consider this a failed rolls attempt!

so so delicious and easy to make!  I will be making this again! The leftovers were scrumptious!

so so delicious and easy to make! I will be making this again! The leftovers were scrumptious!

Printer Friendly: Salmon with Brown Sugar and Mustard Glaze

Printer Friendly: Herb Rolls

Peace and Fish it out,

Isabelle

2 thoughts on “Salmon with Brown Sugar and Mustard Glaze & Herb Rolls

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

