Spring Break 2013

a little self portrait! I am pretty happy to heading South!

a little self portrait! I am pretty happy to be heading South!

So here I am back home.  I did have the best of intentions in posting updates and/or recipes during our travel but unfortunately I was only able to post the Pork Milanese.  It is a great recipe and I love it but I kind of feel bad I couldn’t get my act together long enough to share some fun pics with you guys.

this is the kind of weather we had leaving Indiana....creepy!

this is the kind of weather we had leaving Indiana….creepy!

I have to be honest with you.  I am somewhat of a crazy traveler….in fact I should say “crazy pre-traveler” meaning I get somewhat crazy before we leave for our trips…here’s some of the crazy things that happens to me BEFORE we leave:

~  What if I forgot something?  I mean Lord knows there might not be 50 drugstores or Chez Target or The Infinite Walmart…all over our country.  Nope I need everything with me.

~  Will we have enough food and water for our trip.  Seriously?  I see the news show reporting people who were stuck somewhere in a storm or what not and they NEVER  have food or water with them.  Really?  We travel with enough food that usually we end up bringing some on our trip back….after a week!

~  Is Mapquest lying to me?  What if there was an error in the system and the map is sending me in the wrong direction?  It’s not like I can ask for directions….or you know look at the good ol’ map paper thingy….

~  Do I have enough workout clothes?  Do I have enough shoes?  Do I have enough underoos?  Trust me I pack as if I am going on a world tour!

~  Did I bring enough to keep me busy in the car?  Do I want to read?  Type?  Review Recipes?  Make paper mache pinatas? 😉

~  Will my dogs be sad to see me leave?  Will Jack (our house sitter) remember to feed Bob the fish?  Will my dogs remember I am their mommy when I get back?

~  Will I get an upset stomach while we travel?  I know TMI….but seriously I once made my husband stop the car 3 times in the first hour of a trip because I thought my bladder was going to explode!  (I truly apologize for crossing the bathroom issue for the first time in my blogging history…couldn’t help it…had to go there!)

by the way this is as "junk/fast food" as I like to eat....I am a pain to travel with!

by the way this is as “junk/fast food” as I like to eat….I am a pain to travel with!

OK so…we made it to Florida perfectly OK.  Here are some pics for your personal enjoyment!

On Sunday we went to Brunch with my brother and his family!  It was delicious.  Here’s our little gang:

I know I don't usually post pics of my kids but I decided to make an exception today (with my sister-in-law's blessing of course)

I don’t usually post pics of my kids but I decided to make an exception today (with my sister-in-law’s blessing of course)

On Monday I took the girls to Universal, against my better judgement…anyone who has ever lived in Florida knows you don’t go to Disney or Universal during Spring Break…that’s just crazy talk!

I really should have bought this cup! Isn't it cute! Maybe next time!

I really should have bought this cup! Isn’t it cute?! Maybe next time!

Matt went to his dad’s hunting camp….too many snakes for my liking!

On Tuesday the girls, Dee and I went to the beach.  It was AWESOME….packed but awesome.

Cocoa Beach. I don't know how I managed to make it look empty...it was crazy packed with peeps!

Cocoa Beach. I don’t know how I managed to make it look empty…it was crazy packed with peeps!

On Wednesday, we met up with my BFF, Janine.  Had a nice lunch, pedicures, some much needed girl shopping and then I cooked dinner for the whole group.  Menu: marinated grill pork chops with a vegetable and tortellini balsamic pasta salad!  Plenty of wine…enough to get the adults acting like we were in college.  (please read that we acted like idiots and that the kids quietly pretended we were invisible.)

Janine has the best backyard in the world!!!!!

Janine has the best backyard in the world!!!!!

gift from Janine...isn't that sweet?! :)

gift from Janine…isn’t that sweet?!🙂

On Thursday we had lunch with Matt’s mom and sister.  We went to a cute little mexican restaurant called: Mexican Restaurant.  I love that name!  It is what it is!

Kerri and Grandma Penny, we had a lovely lunch!

Kerri and Grandma Penny, we had a lovely lunch!

Thursday night was adult dinner night, the girls “babysat” their cousins.  Dee, Christian, Matt and I went out to dinner and had the most amazing food!  I only took a picture of my plate because as you know I can get pretty annoying about food and I don’t want to be in the dog house on vacation! 🙂

Grilled Lamb Chops (medium rare) with Gorgonzola Polenta and Wilted Spinach...AMAZING!

Grilled Lamb Chops (medium rare) with Gorgonzola Polenta and Wilted Spinach…AMAZING!

p.s. Sorry about the ugly food pic…smart phones are not all that good for food photos!

Finally Friday.  We went running (as we did every morning Dee and I) then private movie showing of The Host.  A little more shopping before we hit the road around 4pm so we could avoid a bit of traffic….we didn’t but that’s a story I will keep to myself!

this is where I had the pleasure of running every single day.  Truly perfect!

this is where I had the pleasure of running every single day. Truly perfect!

Look at this cute cookie tin I found at World Market...I can't believe I didn't buy it! I guess the pink doesn't really work in my kitchen!

Look at this cute cookie tin I found at World Market…I can’t believe I didn’t buy it! I guess the pink doesn’t really work in my kitchen!

what I decided was a healthy treat for our drive back...no I don't regret it!

what I decided was a healthy treat for our drive back…no I don’t regret it!

OK OK I am almost done I promise….a couple more things I want to share with you.

at the beach my little Bear burned her face really really bad.  This little magic potion saved the day!

at the beach my little Bear burned her face really really bad. This little magic potion saved the day!

Note: I don’t know this company, they don’t know me but my kid’s face is healing and 100% better because of it!  If you ever get a bad sunburn, I highly suggest you find this little gem!

This is a picture of my brother and I, I don't even know how old we are but it makes me happy.  It is proudly displayed in their living room!

This is a picture of my brother and I, I don’t even know how old we are but it makes me happy. It is proudly displayed in their living room!

Well I hope this wasn’t too boring for you guys….I guess I better get cooking something fierce otherwise some might think I have lost my touch!

Peace and Love,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Spring Break 2013

  1. Isabelle, your trip re-cap was an absolute treat to read and your term “crazy pre-traveler” was a gem! I make “lists” before traveling, but still feel like I’m forgetting something. Thanks the tips!🙂 It was also a treat to see your pretty smiling face first thing Monday morning. Felt like we were having coffee together, xo! I’m heading North on Wednesday (wrong direction I know, ha!) so your travel guide came in handy. Have a great week!

  2. I felt like I was right there w/the family, Isabelle! Trips w/youngens are always full of the unexpected! Have a great week, and just know that I love living vicariously through you!! xo Ally

  3. I’m so happy to find out that there are more “crazy pre-travelers” out there other than me! Maybe it’s a Canadian thing eh?! You should see me when I decide (and by “decide” I mean get dragged kicking and screaming) to go camping🙂 Thank you for sharing your family pics.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

