Pork Milanese

Pork Milanese

Pork Milanese

Remember how much I love Ann Burrell?  Yes, I said love!  I could totally see being friends with her.  She’s got spunk!  I have to say that most of my friends, especially my girlfriends are women with lots of spunk.  I like people that can put up with me and keep me on my toes.  I am an acquired taste as far as a friend.  I know it.  I’ve lived with it for a while now.  So I guess I look for the same traits in my friends.  My point is; Ann is that kind of personality…well I imagine she is!

Her cookbook: Cook Like A Rock Star is still a favorite of mine.  I have shared a couple recipes from this book, so today I thought I should give you one more delicious treat from Ann.  It is super simple to make.  The technique is key and you can simply change the protein to your liking, or what’s on sale at the store.

Let’s get to it.

Note: I did change a few things, because I can’t follow directions to save my life!  I put in parenthesis what I changed, feel free to follow Anne, or me or you…I’d go with you.  Be the master of your kitchen!

simple perhaps but amazingly scrumptious!

simple perhaps but amazingly scrumptious!

Ingredients:

For the onions:

3/4 cup red wine vinegar

1 tablespoon kosher salt

1 1/2 teaspoons sugar

2 0r 3 shots of Tabasco or other hot sauce

1 red onion, very thinly sliced rings

For the pork:

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 large eggs (I ended up needing 3), beaten with 1 tablespoon water

1 1/2 cups panko (I did 3/4 panko and 3/4 Italian breadcrumbs)

1/2 cup freshly grated Parmigiano

4 thick-cut boneless pork chops, butterflied and lightly pounded (I did 5 chops, I sliced them in half lengthwise and then pounded them)

kosher salt

Extra virgin olive oil

For the salad:

1/2 cup freshly grated Pecorino (I only had Parmigiano)

1/2 cup hazelnuts, toasted

2 tablespoons fresh Italian parsley chopped

1 head of escarole, cut into bite-size pieces (I did do the escarole but honestly romaine or even arugula would have worked)

Pickled Onions (recipe below)

Extra virgin olive oil

How to:

For the onions:

In a medium bowl, combine the vinegar with 1/2 cup cold water.  Add the salt, sugar and Tabasco and stir.  Add the sliced onions and let sit for a least 1 hour.

lovely pickled onions

lovely pickled onions

For the pork:

Set up your standard breading procedure: one bowl with the flour, one with the egg-water mixture, and one with the panko/breadcrumbs and grated Parmigiano combined.  Have a baking sheet handy to hold the pork after breading.

Season the pork with salt.  Using one hand for dry ingredients and one hand for wet, take each piece of pork through the breading procedure: dredge it lightly in the flour, shake off the excess, dip it in the egg wash, then pack on the panko/breadcrumbs.  Lay the breaded pork on the baking sheet and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

all set or all breaded I should say!

all set or all breaded I should say!

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees F.

Pour 1/2 inch of olive oil into a large saute pan and bring to medium-high heat.  Set up your drying situation next to the stove by lining a baking sheet with a couple layers of paper towels.  Once the oil is hot, add the pork, working in batches so you don’t crowd the pan.  Cool the first side of the pork until golden brown and crispy, 3 to 4 minutes; turn and brown the other side.  When the pork is done, lay it on the paper towels to drain off the excess oil and sprinkle with salt.  The keep the pork in the oven while you cook the second batch.

the magical golden crust

the magical golden crust

everything is now nice and crispy

everything is now nice and crispy

For the salad:

Put the Pecorino (or parmesan), hazelnuts, and parsley in the food processor and pulse until coarsely chopped.

In a large bowl, combine the escarole, hazelnut mix and some of the pickled red onions; dress this mixture with olive oil and some of the pickling liquid and toss to combine.

this salad is so delicious it could be serve all by itself!

this salad is so delicious it could be serve all by itself!

To serve, place a pork chop on a serving plate and top with the lovely salad.  Simply perfectly delicious!

what a great meal, simply perfect!

what a great meal, simply perfect!

Printer Friendly:  Pork Milanese

Peace and I like people with Spunk!

Isabelle

8 thoughts on “Pork Milanese

  1. Allo
    J’ai bien l’intention d’essayer cette recette mais c’est quoi du PANKO? Contente de savoir que j’ai du cran….bye Isabelle et encore merci pour ce blog…Marie x

  2. What a beautiful meal – your pictures are amazing. Looks so delicious. Found your blog from the Carolina Heartstrings and so happy we did. Simply wonderful!

  3. Well, you can add me to the list of people who don’t read directions. I was doing fine until I got to the “refrigerate for at least one hour” part! This is what we’re having for dinner tonight. I guess we’re going to pretend to be Europeans and eat at 9 pm.

  4. This is definately a keeper! My family inhaled dinner. I ended up putting the pork in the freezer while the oil heated up and it worked out well.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

