Pumpkin-Almond Crunch

Pumpkin-Almond Crunch

Pumpkin-Almond Crunch

Pardon the interruption while I still try to squeeze into a bikini….yep all 43 years old of me in da bikini baby!  So I have been torturing my peeps with healthy grubs for a while  (meaning more healthy than ever for me).  I am still my usual everything from scratch kind of nut job (please don’t take offense if you are part of the same clan), but lately I have been annoying more than usual….which if you know me, well it’s kind of scary.  I put annoying on the map.  I thrive on annoying.  I rejoice in….OK this is annoying!

We are heading to Florida for Spring Break.  So although I am the biggest gym rat around I have managed to push the envelop a touch more in terms of not only exercising but cutting out a LOT of unhealthy habits.  First off; no more bread at breakfast.  Second, no more food…HA!  Just checking to see if you were paying attention!  Second, less snacking.

It’s been nice….especially nice when I will be lying on the beach in my granny bikini 😉

Here’s a little healthy treat to share with the class.

delicious treat for everyone!

delicious treat for everyone!

Adapted from: Canyon Ranch Nourish by Scott Uehlein

Ingredients:

3/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds

3/4 cup raw almonds

2 teaspoon canola oil

3 tablespoon real maple syrup

1 tablespoon flax seeds

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon all spice

3/4 teaspoon sea salt or kosher

1 1/2 cup dried cranberries

How to:

Preheat the oven to 300 degree F.  Lightly spray a baking sheet with canola oil spray or line with a silicone mat.

Toss the pumpkin seeds, almonds and canola oil in a small bowl.  Spread the coated seeds evenly on the baking sheet.  Roast for 20 minutes, or until almost dry.

first step....gotta start somewhere!

first step….gotta start somewhere!

Place the pumpkin seeds and almonds in a medium bowl and stir in your maple syrup until coated.

Combine the cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and salt in a small bowl.  Add the spice mixture and flax seeds to the pumpkin seeds and almonds.  Stir to combine.

Return everything to the baking sheet, spread as evenly as possible and roast for 15 minutes or until dry, stirring occasionally.  Keep an eye on this, pumpkin seeds burn easily.  Remove from oven and let cool completely.

second roasting....easy breezy

second roasting….easy breezy

Once cooled combine the seeds and the dried cranberries in a large bowl.  Put in an air tight container.

isn't it gorgeous?

isn’t it gorgeous?

To serve: I like to sprinkle over Greek yogurt and sliced bananas.  Any flavor yogurt works, I prefer Chobani non-fat plain yogurt.  If you prefer you may want to drizzle some more maple syrup, honey or agave syrup.  This crunch is also great over cereal or simply in a bowl while watching Duck Dynasty…. 😉

my afternoon snack

my afternoon snack

Printer Friendly: Pumpkin-Almond Crunch

Peace and Da Beach in Da Bikini!

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin-Almond Crunch

  1. Nice one! But what if i cant find real maple syrup around here where i live? Cani use honey instead? Have a wonderful break in Florida, I’m sure you look great in your bikini. 😉

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

