Southwest Chicken Salad

Southwest Chicken Salad

Southwest Chicken Salad

It seems I get all my chicken salad recipes from other people.  What’s up with that?  Can’t I come up with my own delicious recipes?  Am I chicken salad deficient?  Possibly…I guess I will just have to live with it.  I can definitely throw down with my numerous cookie recipes!

Is it me or this conversation is a bit weird?  It’s not like I go around the gym or school asking people if they have delicious chicken salad recipes (getting weirder).  But first it was Jenny’s Salad whom I basically had to get into a physical fight to get her darn chicken salad recipe, which she had given to Jennifer first….NOT FORGOTTEN THAT ONE!  😉  And now my husband has his own that he claims is the best chicken salad ever (you know he didn’t say that because as we all know he is Captain of the Nice People Club…a club I certainly don’t belong to!).  Sooooo anyway…..weirdly enough I have pretty much refused to make his version at home just “cause….yep just cause I am me and that’s how I roll people”…making friends around the world!

I finally decided it was time I step out of my “negative nancy” mode, give in and make his salad.  Turns out (as expected…blah blah blah) it’s delicious!  😉

I should have made this sooner! Look at the size of my leftover lunch the next day!

I should have made this sooner! Look at the size of my leftover lunch the next day!

Ingredients:

4 chicken breasts cooked and shredded (about 5 cups shredded) (see cooking instruction below)

Juice of 2 limes

1 red pepper diced (green, yellow, orange all works, of course)

1/2 medium red onion diced

1/2 bunch chopped fresh cilantro (about 2 cups)

2 garlic cloves finely chopped

2 7-ounce cans Herdez Cesara Salsa drained (see note below)

1 tablespoon each salt and pepper

2 avocados diced

How to:

For the chicken:  Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.  Put your chicken breast in a large baking dish, sprinkle with salt, pepper and any poultry seasoning you like.  Bake for 40-45 minutes until no longer pink.  Let cool for about 15 minutes and shred.  Put in a large bowl.  Set aside and let cool completely.

Once your chicken has cooled add all your ingredients except your avocado.  Mix well.  Top your bowl with plastic wrap, put in your refrigerator and let this marinate and get to know each other well for about 1 hour.  Add your diced avocado and serve in pita pockets, tortilla wraps, on top of lettuce, with toasted country bread….etc…endless possibilities.

marinating

marinating

with avocados...I know hard telling the difference but take my word for it.

with avocados…I know hard telling the difference but take my word for it.

Amazing flavors, fresh, healthy and a nice change from classic mayo chicken salad.

perfect lunch!

perfect lunch!

Note about the salsa:  The Herdez Cesara is the one Matt says works best, a very authentic sauce, obviously if you have something you prefer then by all means use it but make sure you drain it first.  Otherwise the salad will be very wet and not what we are shooting for!

FYI this is the salsa Matt prefers for this dish

FYI this is the salsa Matt prefers for this dish

Another note: if you have about 5 cups leftover chicken by all means use it!  I won’t tell Matt  😉

Printer Friendly: Southwest Chicken Salad

Peace and Don’t Be Deficient,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Southwest Chicken Salad

  1. Isabelle, my husband can always tell when I’m reading one of your posts because I start laughing. (Out loud. By myself. In my writing nook.) 😉 Your humor tickles me greatly! Thank you for the smile for the day and for sharing your hubby’s salad.

  2. Pingback: Nacho Burgers | Isabelle at home

  3. Pingback: Creamy Pork Taco Soup | Isabelle at home

  4. I’m making this for dinner tonight, thanks! My pantry is full of Herdez Salsa Casera, I love it and it’s the perfect size! BTW…I’d faint if my hubby came up with a recipe for anything!

  5. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

