Pineapple and Black Bean Salsa

Pineapple and Black Bean Salsa

Pineapple and Black Bean Salsa

Spring is in the air.  IT IS.  I am so so so ready for this painful cold weather to leave us.  On top of all this we are planning our spring break trip to my brother’s in Florida.  I am crazy loopy with excitement….which might explain my behavior the last week or so.

Here’s the thing.  I don’t always have a very good filter when it comes to things I should or shouldn’t say…..brace yourself, I am an idiot!

~ I actually told our chiropractor that he should really think about getting an electric dog collar so he can get electric shock when he talks so much at the gym and gets nothing done….I said that!

~ I told my kids that I was in a bad mood, they asked why, I said I didn’t know, they said why tell us then…I said it was more of a warning than anything else….I said that!

~ I described someone at my gym as looking like an old adult X-rated movie star….I said that!

~  I told the sub center I couldn’t sub because I had lunch plans with my friend Jennifer and I was hoping to have a glass of wine, the lady actually told me she didn’t need a reason why I couldn’t sub…we said that!

All that being said (…no pun intended!)  I have been craving “spring” food.  Here is another lovely recipe I found in the Everyday Food Issue #80 I also made the Chewy Molasses Squares , which were fabulous!

Fresh and Healthy! Perfect!

Fresh and Healthy! Perfect!

Ingredients:

1 can (15.5 ounces) black beans, rinsed and drained

1 1/2 cups chopped pineapple

1 jalapeno, stemmed, seeded, and minced

3 tablespoons finely chopped red onion

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

Coarse salt

How to:

In a medium bowl, combine black beans, pineapple, jalapeno, red onion, cilantro, and lime juice.  Season with salt.

quite the complicated process, don't you think? :)

quite the complicated process, don’t you think? 🙂

Pretty simple isn’t it?  But so fresh and full of hope for spring.  Can a dish bring hope for spring?  I don’t know but the bottom line is that I can only focus on the thoughts of better weather and bright sunny days ahead!

I think this salsa would be fantastic for shrimp or grilled fish tacos.  Also over a taco salad….yummy!

Great Party Appetizer!

Great Party Appetizer!

Printer Friendly: Pineapple and Black Bean Salsa

Peace and Count to ten before you open your mouth (that’s more for me than you guys!)

Isabelle

I shared my recipe here as well (go check it out!)

4 thoughts on “Pineapple and Black Bean Salsa

  1. Isabelle, YES, a dish can inspire thoughts of Spring — yours did! If it’s any consolation, I, too, suffer from “foot in mouth” disease… (Better to fill said mouth with delectable salsa first…) 🙂 At least it gives us a fightin’ chance to match our thoughts with our words. (But, keep bein’ honest — the world needs more folks like you!)

    Still smilin’ over your “uncensored” comments… bet they lead to some interesting conversations! xo

  2. This will go perfect with Tilapia Fish Tacos thanks! And don’t worry we all have days like this where we say stuff we really didn’t mean or stuff we weren’t supposed to say, we are all human and some people are very natural and sincere this is just their personality. 😉

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

