Low-Fat Peanut Butter and Jam Bars

Low-Fat Peanut Butter and Jam Bars

Low-Fat Peanut Butter and Jam Bars

I found this delightful recipe in: The America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook.  I changed the name.  Why?  Well, first off it’s my blog and I can.  Just kidding….I do have a good reason: they called them Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars, then right below it states: “feel free to use any flavor of jam here, but stay away from jelly, which has a weaker fruit flavor” …..ummmm why then call them “jelly bars” if we are using jam and SHOULDN’T use jelly…doesn’t make sense to me.  Also it’s a low-fat recipe…it should be in the title/name…shouldn’t it?

Did I lose you up there?  I am sorry.  I will just add this to my list of pet peeves.  (one more…!)

I really like the people of The America’s Test Kitchen, they really do their homework.  I mean they can REALLY spend hours, even months on a single recipe.  Lord knows I don’t have that kind of patience!  Luckily for me and you, they are really printer friendly.  These guys LOVE nothing better than to write write write….oh wait…I type type type…oh well, let’s call it even!

Let’s get to the recipe.

looks yummy doesn't it? :)

looks yummy doesn’t it?🙂

Ingredients:

¾ cup all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

¾ cup sugar

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

1 large egg

¼ cup crunchy peanut butter, room temperature

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ cup dry-roasted peanuts, chopped coarse

1 cup raspberry jam (preferably organic)

How to:

Heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line an 8×8 baking pan with an aluminum foil, slightly overlapping on the sides.  Spray lightly with cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine your flour, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.

In a large bowl beat your sugar and butter until soft and creamy.  Beat in the egg, followed by the peanut butter and vanilla.  Scrap the bowl as needed.  Add the flour mixture and mix until just combined.

Reserve half of the dough for the topping.  Press the remaining dough evenly into the prepared pan.  Bake in your preheated oven until the crust is lightly golden about 20 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking.  Meanwhile stir the peanuts into the reserved dough for the topping.

the bottom crust

the bottom crust

Transfer the pan to a wire rack and spread the jam evenly over the hot crust, leaving a 1/2-inch border on all sides.  Drop small pieces of the topping evenly over the top.  Bake the bars until the jam is bubbling and the topping is golden, about 25 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking.

the jam NOT the jelly layer

the jam NOT the jelly layer

and the final yumminess

and the final yumminess

yummy!

yummy!

Let the bars cook completely in the pan for about 2 hours.  Remove the bars from the pan using the foil, cut and serve.

Yummy and healthy….depending on what your definition of healthy is…it fits mine so I am all about eating these delicious bars!

delicious, slightly crunchy and the perfect sweet salty combo!

delicious, slightly crunchy and the perfect sweet salty combo!

On a funny note, my oldest said to me when she ate a piece: “hey, mom those are pretty good, they taste like pb and j”!  I said: “well, that was sort of the point”….was the name not clear????  Darn teenagers!
Printer Friendly: Low-Fat Peanut Butter and Jam Bars

Peace and Calling it like it is,

Isabelle

Find my recipe here as well (go check out the great linky party!)

5 thoughts on “Low-Fat Peanut Butter and Jam Bars

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

