Roasted Cabbage Pasta

Roasted Cabbage Pasta

Roasted Cabbage Pasta

It’s the simplest things that often make you the happiest.  I made roasted cabbage a few weeks ago because well…because I happened to have bought a cabbage and it was calling my name, wishing to get the heck out of my fridge and make something delicious.  In fact, that’s probably not really how all this happened but truthfully I could eat cabbage on any given day.  I fear cabbage kind of gets a bad rap.  I, myself, find it perfectly delicious in anything and everything.  I have never turned down stuffed cabbage or cabbage soup.  It’s all good in my book.

Here is a super simple way to eat cabbage, this recipe only has a few key ingredients and that’s what makes it so perfect for a family meal.  I find roasted cabbage perfectly delicious by itself but tonight I thought I should branch out for all you foodies out there I added a little umph to it!  Umph as in pancetta and pasta….and a little vino for good measure!

I like the small little shells because they hold the lovely saucy goodness!

I like the small little shells because they hold the lovely saucy goodness!

Ingredients:

1/2 green cabbage cut into large chunks (about 1 lb.)

4 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon each salt & pepper

1 lb pasta (small is what I like for this dish but it’s your pasta…your choice)

4 ounces diced Pancetta (you could substitute with diced bacon)

2 garlic cloves finely diced

1/2 cup dry white wine  (or substitute with low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth)

1/2 to 1 cup of pasta liquid

Shaved Parmesan for serving

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.  Toss your cut cabbage, olive oil, salt and pepper.  Put in a large baking dish or baking sheet.  Put in your preheated oven for 30 minutes.  Remove and set aside.

cabbage ready!

cabbage ready!

cabbage done!

cabbage done!

Cook your pasta according to the package’s direction.  Keep 1/2 to 1 cup of cooking liquid.

In a large saucepan brown your pancetta until crispy.  Drain on a plate with paper towels.  Do not clean your pan.  Add your garlic and cook on medium-low for about 2 minutes.  Add your roasted cabbage, toss everything to combine.  Add your wine and bring to a simmer.  Cook for 2-3 minutes until reduced slightly.  Add your cooked pasta and your pancetta, toss everything together.  You may want to add a little bit of your pasta water if you like it more saucy (or if you are more saucy!) I added about 1/4 cup of pasta liquid.  Taste and adjust seasoning if needed.  Serve with shaved parmesan.

pancetta....it's just so lovely

pancetta….it’s just so lovely

things are moving along pretty well!

things are moving along pretty well!

lovely pan full of deliciousness!

lovely pan full of deliciousness!

the sweetness of the roasted cabbage, the saltiness of the pancetta...it all works perfectly!

the sweetness of the roasted cabbage, the saltiness of the pancetta…it all works perfectly!

I could eat this all day, everyday!  First off, I love everything roasted, it simply brings out the best in veggies.  Kind of makes their personality shine!  Second, it’s pasta and pancetta!  That right there should be illegal!  But it’s not so we are in luck!

Printer Friendly: Roasted Cabbage Pasta

Peace and Be Saucy…life is too short!

Isabelle

2 thoughts on “Roasted Cabbage Pasta

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

