Beef Goulash

Beef Goulash

Beef Goulash

Not to be confused with American Chop Suey or American Goulash.  I am talking about the real deal here.  In fact, I am not even sure I can say that…I mean it seems that most East European countries have their own version of Goulash. (even Italy has it own version and it’s not in the Eastern Block!)   It is the National dish of Hungary.

Let me tell you a little story about Goulash or feel free to skip to the “ingredients and how to” for the recipe….yes, it’s a “typical” Isabelle story….as always!

Back in college I was studying (and graduated with a degree in) Political Science and History (yes I am a sucker for loooooong books about the world!).  In one of my classes: Eastern Europe, circa 18something to 19something (who knows), my lovely professor, a petite feisty polish woman, was talking about Goulash Politics.  For some crazy reason I was awake and decided to blurt out that Goulash Politics was just like the dish: meat and other “crap” thrown in to make it palatable….NOT A WIN FOR ISABELLE.  She decided to pull me aside after class and explain to me the “rules” of her classroom (in the entryway of said classroom)….I want to tell you at this point that this was the one class that I would leave only to pass by the one boy I had a crush on.  His class was right after my class and he would wait right by the entry door….some weird psychology class but still…I could make eye contact and pretend to be cool.  Needless to say having my butt chewed outside the classroom for all to hear and see didn’t help my cool factor.  After that, no more eye contact and certainly no more “smart aleck”comments in my ever so exciting Eastern Euro Poli Sci class.

not Goulash Politics....yummy and flavorful Beef Goulash

not Goulash Politics….yummy and flavorful Beef Goulash

Goulash is delicious.  It’s a well thought out meat stew with plenty of local (and personal) flavors added according to tradition.  I had to research a delicious version of this dish and add my own little twist.  Turns out I owe my teacher an apology, Goulash is nothing like Goulash Politics…it’s delicious!😉

Adapted from Tyler Florence: Beef Goulash found: here

Ingredients:

4 slices bacon, chopped
3.5 pounds beef stew meat
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 medium onions, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 roasted red bell peppers, peeled and sliced
3 tablespoons Hungarian sweet paprika
2 teaspoons caraway seeds, toasted and ground
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 28-ounce can whole peeled tomatoes, hand crushed
4-5 cups low-sodium beef broth
5 medium Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and thickly sliced
1/2 cup sour cream (plus more for serving)
Chopped flat-leaf parsley, for garnish (optional)
How to:
Place a large heavy pot over medium heat and add the bacon.  Cook for about 5 minutes until crisp and remove to a paper towel and reserve.  Brown 1/2 your beef in the hot bacon fat evenly on all sides, season generously with salt and pepper.  Remove your meat to a plate and finish with second 1/2 of meat.  Return all your beef to your pot.  Sprinkle the flour evenly in the pot and stir to dissolve any clumps.  Add a little oil if necessary to keep the meat from sticking to the bottom of the pot.
Add in the onions, garlic, roasted peppers, paprika, and caraway; cook and stir for 2 minutes until fragrant.  Stir in the vinegar, tomatoes, and 4 cups broth.  Bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer and cook for 1 hour, covered, stirring occasionally.  At this point you may want to add more broth depending on how your sauce has reduced.
Add the potatoes.  Crumble the reserved bacon into the stew and continue to simmer for 30 minutes, partially covered, until the potatoes are tender.  Season with salt and pepper.
nothing exciting here....just lots of delicious flavors simmering away :)

nothing exciting here….just lots of delicious flavors simmering away🙂

Remove from heat and stir the sour cream into the goulash just before serving.  Garnish with the chopped parsley (if using) and a dollop of sour cream.
Simply delicious and belly warming, a perfect winter meal.

Simply delicious and belly warming, a perfect winter meal.

Printer Friendly: Beef Goulash
Peace and I am not using my degree on a regular basis…in case you were wondering😉
Isabelle

2 thoughts on “Beef Goulash

  1. I just knew you were one feisty littl’ girl in college! I love goulash, and this sounds fabulous…not a doubt in my mind that your degree played a heave role in this masterpiece!! xo Ally

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

