Parmesan Wings with Spicy Marinara Dippin’ Sauce

Parmesan Wings with Spicy Marinara Dippin' Sauce

Parmesan Wings with Spicy Marinara Dippin’ Sauce

My husband loves wings.  I…well….not so much.  They can be messy and when you are a train wreck eater like I am, well…things can get pretty ugly.  But I love this guy and I like to make him happy.  Which means that once in a while I make him wings.  He likes them hot and spicy.  I like mine with a little more pizzaz…italian pizzaz is what I like 😉

Here is my favorite wings recipe.

fair to say I am a BIG fan of Parmesan Cheese...it's BIG LOVE!

fair to say I am a BIG fan of Parmesan Cheese…it’s BIG LOVE!

Ingredients:

For the wings:

4 lbs chicken wings

1 tablespoon dried oregano

1 tablespoon dried basil

1/2 teaspoon dried pepper flakes

1 teaspoon kosher or sea salt

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tablespoon dried basil (or 2 tablespoons fresh basil roughly chopped)

3 garlic cloves crushed and finely chopped

1/3 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

1/2 teaspoon dried pepper flakes

1 tablespoon dried parsley (or 2 tablespoons fresh parsley chopped)

salt and pepper to taste

For the dipping sauce:

3 garlic cloves crushed and chopped

1 6-ounce can tomato paste

1 15-ounce can crushed tomatoes

1 tablespoon dried basil

1 teaspoon dried pepper flakes

Salt and Pepper

How to:

First and foremost you need to perform surgery on your little wings.  You need to cut off the little wing tip and throw them away. Then separate/cut the flats and the drummettes.  Put in a large bowl.  Set aside.

a good knife is a good friend for this job! or kitchen sheers will work

a good knife is a good friend for this job! or kitchen sheers will work

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with foil or silicone mat.  Set aside.

In a small bowl combine 1 tablespoon dry oregano, 1 tablespoon dry basil, 1/2 teaspoon dried pepper flakes and salt.  Sprinkle this over your wings and using thongs (or hands) make sure everything is well-distributed.  Lay all your wings pieces on your prepared baking sheets.  Put in your oven and bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown.  I like to turn my pieces halfway through the cooking but it’s your choice.  Of course, you could grill/barbecue as well but in the cold Indiana winter the oven is my friend.

make sure the spices are everywhere your taste buds will thank you!

make sure the spices are everywhere your taste buds will thank you!

ready to bake

ready to bake

While your wings are baking, combine in a large bowl olive oil, 1 tablespoon dry basil, chopped garlic, Parmesan cheese, 1/2 teaspoon dried pepper flakes, fresh or dried parsley, salt and pepper.  Set aside.

it doesn't seem like much but it goes a long way!

it doesn’t seem like much but it goes a long way!

Also while wings are baking in a medium saucepan heat 1 tablespoon olive oil.  Add your garlic and pepper flakes.  Cook on medium heat (do not burn your garlic it will be bitter) for 1-2 minutes.  Add your crushed tomatoes, tomato paste and dried basil.  Cook on medium-low heat for 10-15 minutes.  Taste and adjust seasoning.  At this point I do like to use my immersion blender and puree my dipping sauce, if I was using it with pasta I wouldn’t but for a wing sauce it makes it easier to serve.  Keep warm until ready to use.

spicy marinara dippin' sauce...most versatile sauce I know!

spicy marinara dippin’ sauce…most versatile sauce I know!

When your wings are ready, quickly add them to your Parmesan mixture and using thongs mix everything well.  Put your wings on a serving platter and pour any of the lovely Parmesan mixture left over your wings.  Serve with Spicy Marinara on the side.

the Parmesan almost makes like a crust on the wings...oh my....heavenly!

the Parmesan almost makes like a crust on the wings…oh my….heavenly!

Absolutely Delicious!  Even my husband, who had a HUGE platter of his own very very very spicy wings came back twice to eat MY wings!  This is a great dish for a cocktail party.  Also great for a barbecue….think about it…if the grill is full of burgers and hot dogs you can thrown these bad boys in your oven and look like a super star (always a goal of mine!)

Note: you can easily make your marinara sauce ahead of time and re-heat when you bake your wings.  Also if you happen to have leftover sauce use it as a pizza sauce or over linguine loaded with fresh Parmesan cheese….YUM!

leaving you with one last look at these amazing tasty little wings!

leaving you with one last look at these amazing tasty little wings!

Printer Friendly: Parmesan Wings with Spicy Marinara Dippin’ Sauce

Peace and Dippin’

Isabelle

2 thoughts on “Parmesan Wings with Spicy Marinara Dippin’ Sauce

  1. Isabelle, thanks for including your “train wreck eater” link — that story is as hilarious the second time around as it was the first! 😉 Now, about those wings… I’ve eaten all kinds of ’em but never “coated” wings — your tasty lil’ combo sounds like THE version I’ve been waiting for! Bless you…

  2. That’s so sweet of you to make these delicious wings for your hubby. 🙂 It’s the opposite in my house, I love wings but my hubby, not so much. So I seldom make any. I guess I can make these when I invite some girlfriends over to share on our next gathering. 😉

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

