Chewy Molasses Squares

Chewy Molasses Squares

Chewy Molasses Squares

In an effort to be on top of things and not wait until the last minute to do everything in my life, I thought I should read/re-read my everyday Food Issue #80.  This issue will be for my March installment of “let’s not have these little magnificent magazines sit on my bookshelf being unused”….so far I have only missed December…I was probably in a food or alcohol relaxed state (just being honest here) so that doesn’t count.  Now my February was kind of a bore to me….a delicious bore but a bore none the less.  This next issue however is fabuuuuulous and since I am “the craziest visual person who can’t stop thinking about a food if it looks good”….I had to make this lovely recipe from this issue.  The picture alone in the magazine sent me into some sort of a girlie giggling fit. (not a pretty sight let me assure you)

No this is not the monthly installment…this is a little bonus for you guys!  Also technically it was sent in by a reader and NOT a creation of Mrs Stewart or her staff therefore I am in the clear!

Can one really be in trouble for giving too many delicious recipes and/or not following her own rules of sharing from a monthly magazine???

enough talking let's get to the recipe

enough talking let’s get to the recipe

Ingredients:

Nonstick cooking spray

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon coarse salt

1/3 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 cup unsulfured molasses (unsulfured molasses has a purer sugar-cane taste than sulfured)

4 large egg whites

1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly coat an 8-inch square baking dish with cooking spray.  In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.  In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter and granulated sugar on medium-high until pale and fluffy, 4 minutes.  With mixer on medium, add molasses and egg whites and beat until combined.  With mixer on low, add flour mixture and beat until combined.

Transfer batter to dish and smooth top.  Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean, 40 to 45 minutes.  Let cool completely in dish on a wire rack.  Invert cake onto a cutting board and cut into 1 1/2-inch squares.  To serve, toss in confectioners’ sugar to coat.

lovely color! Ready to bake

lovely color! Ready to bake

time to let it cool!

time to let it cool!

Note: when I first saw the picture of these lovely little squares it almost looked like a chewy caramel (but with molasses) but in fact it is more like a moist dense cake bite dipped in powdered sugar….bottom line still amazingly delicious treat!

cute little cake bites...careful if you wear a dark shirt...powdered sugar everywhere ;)

cute little cake bites…careful if you wear a dark shirt…powdered sugar everywhere😉

Printer Friendly: Chewy Molasses Squares

Peace and I make the rules,

Isabelle

Go check out my recipes and more on this lovely linky party:

11 thoughts on “Chewy Molasses Squares

  1. Oh, these look SO good! I’m allergic to chocolate, and it’s hard to find really good treats that don’t include cocoa or chocolate in the recipe. I love the taste of molasses, too. I bet they’d taste like chewy gingerbread with a little ground ginger and cinnamon in the recipe. I think I’ll try them plain first, to get that pure, unadulterated molasses taste!

  2. Isabelle, your first paragraph resonated with me SO deeply (seriously, I feel like a tuning fork, lol!) — it’s high time I had a girly giggling fit AND some of your molasses squares. Here’s to “crazy visually (and verbally) inspired people!”

  3. Pingback: Pineapple and Black Bean Salsa | Isabelle at home

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Chip, Oatmeal and Pecan Cookies | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

