Pesto and Goat Cheese Pasta

Pesto Goat Cheese Pasta (with optional shredded chicken)

Pesto and Goat Cheese Pasta (with optional shredded chicken)

This was either a moment of brilliance on my part or simple gluttony.  I actually had a dream about this dish…come to think of it…I dream about food quite a lot.  What does that mean?   I am hungry.  I am obsessed with food.  I am obsessed with new recipes.  I have nothing better to dream about.  I feel voids with food….oh wow…that escalated quickly!

Here’s the recipe….make of my dream what you will…it was delicious…both in my dream world and my real world!

Note: I made my own Kale & Arugula Pesto with Raw Almonds, it is simply a twist on my Classic Pesto.  I didn’t add garlic because I didn’t want to overpower the soft goat cheese.  I try to use “power foods” in my cooking as much as possible…Kale and Arugula are mac daddy power foods!  Feel free to change the recipe according to your liking.

delicious!

delicious!

Ingredients:

For the Pesto:

2 cups packed arugula leaves

2 cups packed kale leaves

1/2 cup raw unsalted almonds

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

3/4 cup olive oil

For the Pasta:

1 cup of Pesto (homemade or store-bought)

4-ounces soft goat cheese

1 lb pasta: of any kind, shape or size you like

1 to 2 cups warm shredded chicken, for serving (optional)

Fresh parsley, chopped for serving

How to:

For the Pesto: Put all ingredients in your food processor except olive oil.  Press start button and puree as much as you like.  Add your olive oil and combine well.

kale & arugula pesto, such a lovely green color

kale & arugula pesto, such a lovely green color

For the Pasta: Cook your pasta according to package’s directions.  (I like mine with some “tooth” so I always cook Al Dente)  Keep 1/2 cup of cooking water.  In case your sauce is too thick you may loosen it up with a little starchy water….yummy!

For the sauce: Simply put your 1 cup pesto sauce in a large pan.  Start heating it up gently (very gently) add your goat cheese by breaking it up into little pieces.  Using a spoon or whisk gently combine the pesto and cheese until the cheese is melted.  Add your cooked pasta and gently toss to combine.  Pour your pasta into a large serving bowl and top with shredded chicken (if using) and freshly chopped parsley (also another power food).

adding the cheese to the pesto (call me Captain Obvious)

adding the cheese to the pesto (call me Captain Obvious)

nice creamy sauce

nice creamy sauce

gentle action shot!

gentle action shot!

looking amazing and smelling fantastic

looking amazing and smelling fantastic

I love love love this dish.  I love the peppery taste of the arugula, slight bitterness of the kale and the incredible creaminess of the goat cheese…and we all know I LOVE pasta more than life itself!

I love the family style serving but definitely go with what works for you

I love the family style serving but definitely go with what works for you

This makes a pretty good quantity, plenty for 5 or 6 if you ask me…or at our home 4 with delicious leftovers the next day!

Note: the Pesto recipe makes more than you need but pesto is so versatile.  You could make Green Rice: plain rice mixed with pesto (genius!), pesto is great in sandwiches, pizza pesto: substitute your red sauce with pesto, you can rub pesto over plain chicken breast before cooking them….the sky’s the limit!

first bite....ready, set, eat

first bite….ready, set, eat

Printer Friendly:  Pesto and Goat Cheese Pasta

Peace and Dream On,

Isabelle

For more info on Power Food: Wholeliving.com

I shared my recipe on this lovely linky party as well:

9 thoughts on “Pesto and Goat Cheese Pasta

  1. I’ve never made pesto before but I know I would love it since the ingredients are some of my favorite. of course, I must substitute the Parmesan with a similar cheese made with sheep’s milk (I have a severe allergy to cow’s milk) but I know it would still be delicious. Thanks for sharing, this has inspired me to think about St. Patrick’s Day too. I think I’ll do a special dinner, maybe invite some friends over since this recipe makes such a large portion. Happy Wednesday, thanks again for another great recipe!!!

    Nicole

  2. Pingback: { Daily Dish } Pesto and Goat Cheese Pasta - Daily Dish Magazine~Daily Dish Magazine

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

