Parmesan Shortbread Cookies

Parmesan Shortbread Cookies

Parmesan Shortbread Cookies

I was so excited when I found this recipe in a French Chatelaine magazine my mom gave me.  I tried in vain to locate the English version for you guys but evidently this magazine believes in giving their French readers some recipes and their English readers different ones….oh so logical!

I thought I could simply “translate” the name of the cookies and search the English page but nooooooo!  Then I decided to search by ingredients….but noooooo!  I even tried by date of publication.  Eventually, I just gave up.  I’ll translate the recipe for you!  I am such a sweetheart, aren’t I?  🙂

Just so you know, I am adding this to my list of pet peeves!  Trust me….it’s an incredibly long list!  🙂

Here is the recipe in English found in a French Magazine blogged by the French Canadian Girl living in America!  Enjoy!

Look how gorgeous these little guys are!

Look how gorgeous these little guys are!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup salted butter at room temperature (1 stick)

3/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese (fresh is best)

1  cup strong or extra strong shredded cheddar (I couldn’t find white cheddar so I settled for orange)

pinch cayenne

2 teaspoon fresh rosemary finely chopped

1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

1 egg, lightly whisked

kosher or sea salt

freshly ground pepper

How to:

In a large bowl (or using your mixer) cream your butter and add your cheeses, pinch of cayenne and rosemary.  Add your flour and combine well.  Add your egg and quickly combine.  Turn your dough onto a floured surface and make 1 or 2 logs about 1 1/5-inch in diameter.  Wrap in plastic wrap and put in your freezer for 15 minutes or in your fridge for 1 hour.

it might look like a mess but that's the beauty of it (I think....)

it might look like a mess but that’s the beauty of it (I think….)

2 logs...yep...1 and 2

2 logs…yep…1 and 2

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone mat.  Set aside.

Using a serrated knife (dipped in hot water if it makes your life easier) slice your logs into 1/3-inch or so slices.  Put on your prepared baking sheets, sprinkle with fresh pepper and salt.  Baked in your preheated oven for 10-11 minutes.

all lined up and ready to bake

all lined up and ready to bake

nothing smells like Parmesan baking...nothing I tell ya!

nothing smells like Parmesan baking…nothing I tell ya!

ummmm well....yea....my slices are uneven...so is my life!

ummmm well….yea….my slices are uneven…so is my life!

These little cheesy marvelous morsels are amazing with a crisp glass of wine.  Also great as a side with soups and salads.  I would break them up and sprinkle them on top as well!  I would serve them on a fruit and veggie tray for cocktail hour….oh the possibilities!

here's a closer look at these adorable and heavenly savory cookies

here’s a closer look at these adorable and heavenly savory cookies

Printer Friendly: Parmesan Shortbread Cookies

Peace and Translate People…Translate!

Isabelle

I shared my recipe here as well:

                     

9 thoughts on “Parmesan Shortbread Cookies

  1. I’m loving savory cookies these days! I’ve been eyeing many recipes like these! And I agree with Kim…a crisp glass of wine and some one these cookies would beautiful!

  2. Pingback: National Homemade Cookie Day | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

